Working at Bayer

Pharmaceutical internship and practical year for pharmacists

We offer students the opportunity to complete a voluntary internship and to spend the second half of their one-year compulsory internship (in accordance with Section 4 of the Ordinance on the Licensing of Pharmacists) at Bayer. At our company, you can gain a unique insight into research, development, manufacturing and quality control at a global leader in the life sciences sector and gather a great deal of valuable experience.

What we offer

You will essentially have access to all areas of our pharmaceutical business during your internship at Bayer – from research and development to analytics, production, regulatory affairs, market access and marketing. We are also happy to take your personal interests and strengths as a pharmacist into consideration during the internship. In your application, you can specify your preferred area of employment plus up to two alternatives. During the course of the internship, you will generally be working on a project independently, and at the end of your time with us, you will compile a report on the results of your work.

What you offer

Ideally, you have completed your first state examination with a good academic performance and are now looking to build upon your theoretical knowledge with practical experience. Some initial practical experience in the fields of research, development, manufacturing and quality control, as well as a basic knowledge of pharmaceutical legislation, would be advantageous. 
You are also an excellent team player with strong communication skills and the ability to work extremely flexibly. A strong working knowledge of common MS Office programs and very good German and English language skills are essential.

 

The Leverkusen site

Worldwide, Leverkusen is one of the principal sites for Bayer AG’s Pharmaceutical Division. Every year, Supply Center Leverkusen produces, packages and distributes approved medicinal products for the global market: 450 products and more than 1,500 different articles. These include popular medications such as Xarelto, Nexavar and Adempas. The number of tablets it produces alone – around 10 billion per year – is staggering.

Our mission is to manufacture medicines for the global market. The most important therapeutic areas for the pharmaceutical products produced in Supply Center Leverkusen are cardiovascular diseases, oncology, diabetes, antibiotics and hematology.

Pharmaceutical internship at Bayer Vital

As a sales and marketing company for Bayer, Bayer Vital GmbH markets the medicinal products of the Consumer Health and Pharmaceuticals divisions and the veterinary medicinal products of the Animal Health business unit in Germany. Bayer Vital offers around 10 pharmaceutical internships every year, giving you the opportunity to gain wide-ranging insights into various company units. During an internship, you can work in the Pharmacovigilance unit and focus on drug safety, carry out your own project in regulatory affairs or quality management, or familiarize yourself with the medical departments. These medical departments might include the Scientific Affairs department, where you would busy yourself with creating, assessing and interpreting studies; the Medical Information department, where you would handle miscellaneous queries from customers, doctors and pharmacists; or the Medical Science Liaison department (MSL), in which you would support the MSL managers in their daily work alongside experts and at congresses. We also offer internships in various marketing and sales positions.

Online application

If you want to gain unique insights into the manufacture, filling and/or packaging of our products or into quality control at a global leader in the pharma sector during the course of your pharmaceutical internship, and to come away with a great deal of valuable experience, apply for a place at one of our many locations using the online application form.

All internships in pharmacy

Direct link to the Leverkusen site posting

Personal experience

When theory meets practice – my experience at Bayer Pharmaceuticals

Jacqueline Schwarz was a pharmaceutical intern in Clinical Supply Management at Bayer AG in Berlin. Here she tells us about the wide array of tasks for which she was responsible, together with other valuable insights that she gained during her time there. Read her blog article here.

If you have any questions about the application process, have a look at our application guide or feel free to contact us.

Arbeiten bei Bayer

Praktikum im pharmazeutischen Umfeld und Praktisches Jahr für Pharmazeuten

Wir bieten Studentinnen und Studenten die Möglichkeit, Praktika im Rahmen ihres Studiums und die zweite Hälfte ihres einjährigen Pflichtpraktikums (nach § 4 der Approbationsordnung für Apotheker) bei Bayer zu absolvieren. Bei uns können Sie einzigartige Einblicke in Forschung, Entwicklung, Herstellung oder Qualitätskontrolle eines weltweit führenden Life-Science-Unternehmens gewinnen und viele wertvolle Erfahrungen sammeln.

Was wir Ihnen bieten

Bei Bayer stehen Ihnen während des Praktikums grundsätzlich alle Bereiche der Pharmazie offen – von Forschung und Entwicklung über Analytik bis hin zu Produktion, Zulassung, Market Access oder Marketing. Wir berücksichtigen dabei gerne die persönlichen Interessen und Stärken der Pharmazeuten im Praktikum. In Ihrer Bewerbung können Sie Ihren bevorzugten Einsatzbereich mit bis zu zwei Alternativen angeben. Während des Praktikums arbeiten Sie in der Regel selbstständig an einem Projekt. Über die Ergebnisse Ihrer Arbeit erstellen Sie am Ende des Praktikums einen Bericht.


Was Sie mitbringen

Im Optimalfall haben Sie Ihr erstes Staatsexamen mit guten Studienleistungen abgeschlossen und möchten nun Ihre theoretischen Kenntnisse um praktische Erfahrungen erweitern. Erste praktische Erfahrungen in Forschung, Entwicklung, Herstellung sowie Qualitätskontrolle und Grundkenntnisse im Arzneimittelrecht sind gerne gesehen.
Weiterhin bringen Sie ausgeprägte Teamfähigkeit und Kommunikationsvermögen sowie ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität mit. Fundierte Kenntnisse im Umgang mit gängigen MS Office-Software und sehr gute Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse setzen wir voraus.

Der Standort Leverkusen

Leverkusen zählt zu einem der Hauptstandorte weltweit der Division Pharmaceuticals der Bayer AG. Jedes Jahr werden im Supply Center Leverkusen bewährte Arzneimittel für den weltweiten Markt produziert, verpackt und vertrieben: 450 Produkte, mehr als 1.500 Artikel. Darunter Top-Medikamente wie Xarelto, Nexavar und Adempas. Allein die Zahl der in Leverkusen produzierten Tabletten ist beachtlich: rund zehn Milliarden Stück jährlich.

Unsere Mission ist die Herstellung von Medikamenten für den weltweiten Markt. Die wichtigsten Therapiegebiete der pharmazeutischen Produkte aus dem Supply Center Leverkusen sind Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Onkologie, Diabetes, Antibiotika und Hämatologie.

Pharmaziepraktikum bei Bayer Vital

Als Vertriebs- und Marketinggesellschaft des Bayer Konzerns vertreibt die Bayer Vital GmbH die Arzneimittel der Divisionen Consumer Health und Pharmaceuticals sowie die Tierarzneimittel der Geschäftseinheit Animal Health in Deutschland. Die Bayer Vital bietet jedes Jahr rund 10 Pharmaziepraktikumsplätze an und ermöglicht Ihnen umfangreiche Einblicke in verschiedene Unternehmensbereiche zu bekommen und vielseitige Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Während eines Praktikums können Sie sich im Bereich Pharmakovigilanz mit Arzneimittelsicherheit beschäftigen, ein eigenes Projekt in der Zulassung oder im Qualitätsmanagement übernehmen oder medizinische Abteilungen kennenlernen. Solche medizinischen Abteilungen sind zum Beispiel die Abteilung Scientific Affairs, in der Sie sich unter anderem mit der Erstellung, Bewertung und Interpretation von Studien beschäftigen, die Abteilung Medical Information, in der Sie vielseitige Anfragen von Kunden, Ärzten und Apothekern bearbeiten sowie die Abteilung Medical Science Liaison (MSL), in der Sie die MSL-Manager bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit mit medizinischen Experten und auf Kongressen unterstützen. Zudem bieten wir Praktikumsplätzen in verschiedenen Marketing- und Vertriebsfunktionen.

Online Bewerbung

Wenn Sie während Ihres Praktikums im Bereich Pharmazie einzigartige Einblicke in die Herstellung, Abfüllung und/oder Verpackung unserer Produkte oder in die Qualitätskontrolle eines weltweit führenden Unternehmens der Pharmabranche gewinnen und viele wertvolle Erfahrungen sammeln möchten, bewerben Sie sich bei uns über das Online-Bewerbungsformular an einem der vielen Standorte.

Alle Praktikumsstellen der Pharmazie

Direkt zur Stellenausschreibung am Standort Leverkusen

Erfahrungsberichte

Wenn Theorie auf Praxis trifft – mein Weg bei Bayer Pharmaceuticals

Jacqueline Schwarz war Pharmaziepraktikantin im Clinical Supply Management bei der Bayer AG in Berlin und berichtet über ihre Vielfältigen Aufgaben und andere wertvolle Einblicke, die sie in dieser Zeit erhalten hat. Lesen Sie ihren Blogbeitrag hier.

 

Bei Fragen zur Bewerbung schauen Sie gerne bei unseren Bewerberguide vorbei oder kontaktieren Sie uns.