Wuppertal

Wuppertal, with its population of 350,000, is the largest city in the Bergisches Land region. And with public green spaces covering one-third of its total area, Wuppertal is also the greenest city in Germany. Wuppertal is the birthplace of the Bayer Group. However, the city’s real claim to fame is its unique mode of public transportation. For over 100 years, the Wuppertal suspension railway has been carrying passengers along the Wupper river valley.

 

 
Click image to open galleryzoom
 
 
     
 

Wuppertal

Site:

Friedrich-Ebert-Str.475

42117 Wuppertal

Tel. 02323 0202 -361 (switchboard)

 
     

The Wuppertal site at a glance:

Workforce Approx. 3,500
Divisions & service companies

Pharmaceuticals

Bayer Business Services

Currenta

Address:

 

Research center:

Aprather Weg 18a

42113 Wuppertal

Germany

Site:

Friedrich-Ebert-Str.475

42117 Wuppertal

Germany       

Phone: +49 2323 0202 -361 (switchboard)

Download: Directions & map

Frequently asked questions about the Wuppertal site

Since when has Bayer had a location in Wuppertal?

Bayer’s more than 150-year history has its origins in what is today the city of Wuppertal. Here in 1863, dye salesman Friedrich Bayer and master dyer Johann Friedrich Weskott established the general partnership “Friedr. Bayer et comp” to manufacture and sell synthetic dyes. The company grew rapidly and in 1881 was converted into a joint stock company, initially headquartered in Wuppertal-Elberfeld. However, because of the company’s steady expansion, the site there soon became too small. In 1891, therefore, Bayer purchased the alizarin red factory of Dr. Carl Leverkus & Söhne north of Cologne and later further tracts of land on banks of the Rhine. Bayer then relocated its headquarters in 1912 to what is now Leverkusen. However, Wuppertal remains a major production, research and training location for Bayer.

 

Take a tour of Bayer’s exciting, 150-year history

In what areas do Bayer employees in Wuppertal mainly work?

At the Wuppertal site, 3,000 employees of Bayer’s Pharmaceuticals Division are engaged in the development and manufacture of innovative active ingredients for use in cardiovascular medicine and opthalmology. The Wuppertal site includes the Pharmaceuticals Research Center in Wuppertal-Aprath and the plant in Wuppertal-Elberfeld.

 

  • Pharmaceuticals Research Center

At the Pharmaceuticals Research Center in Aprath, 1,400 scientists and laboratory technicians are engaged in researching and developing new active ingredients for treating eye disorders and cardiovascular disease.

 

  • Site

Some 1,600 Pharmaceuticals employees work at the plant on the Wupper river. The site manufactures some 20 different active ingredients which are then processed into drug products at other Bayer locations and shipped around the world. In addition to producing active ingredients, the Bayer plant in Wuppertal is a hub of chemical and biotechnological process development, because before new substances from pharmaceuticals research can be manufactured in large quantities, chemists, biologists and engineers must design suitable processes for them.

What do Bayer employees in Wuppertal do in their free time?

  • Sports

The SV Bayer Wuppertal sports club has something for all age groups. Its recreational sports program ranges from beach volleyball and soccer, to judo, diving and table tennis. The club is continuously expanding its program, and now also offers rehabilitation exercise classes for people recovering from illness or injury.

 

More on the SV Bayer Wuppertal program

 

  • Culture

The city of Wuppertal has a broad program of cultural events. Under the direction of famed choreographer Pina Bausch, who died in 2009, the Wuppertal Tanztheater gained international fame. Wuppertal’s various theaters, the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra and the Tanztheater are just a few of the city’s many cultural offerings.

 

Complete schedule of cultural events and programs

 

  • Nature

Wuppertal is surrounded by the meadows and forests of the Bergisches Land, a region of low mountains. With public green spaces covering one-third of its total area, Wuppertal is the greenest city in Germany. One special highlight for people who nature and animal lovers is the Wuppertal Zoo. It is home to over 4,500 animals representing some 450 species, and is one of the world’s most beautifully landscaped zoos.

 

Homepage of the Wuppertal Zoo

 

  • Industrial monuments

The Wuppertal-Solingen-Remscheid region is among the oldest centers of industry and business in Europe. As an historic industrial city, Wuppertal has many places and significant landmarks that tell the story of the city’s industrial history. The lime kiln on Eskesberg hill, the Manuelskotten mill for grinding knives and cutlery and the railbed of the old Rheinische Eisenbahngesellschaft railway are just a few of the historic sites where visitors can experience the city’s industrial history.

 

More on Wuppertal’s industrial history

What is the city’s most famous landmark?

An old saying in Wuppertal goes: “Ride the Wuppertal suspension railway once, and you won’t easily forget it; ride it twice and you’ll never forget!” The suspension railway in Wuppertal has achieved international fame over the last 100 years. Every day, 80,000 passengers board the cars to travel along the valley above the Wupper river. Covering 13.3 kilometers, the suspension railway is the main mode of public transportation for the people of Wuppertal.

 

Wuppertal suspension railway schedule

What makes the Wuppertal site such an attractive place to work?

Many employees enjoy the campus atmosphere of the Pharmaceuticals Research Center and the bustling activity at the site. There is an open and inspiring work culture. In addition, many employees meet outside of work for their sporting, cultural or recreational activities. The Pharmaceuticals Summer Festival, in the grounds of the Pharmaceuticals Research Center in Wuppertal-Aprath, has achieved almost cult status among Bayer employees and their families. The gathering attracts some 4,000 visitors every year, who enjoy the culinary diversity, the packed program of information and entertainment events and the street festival atmosphere. Maybe you’ll be joining them next time?

Searching for a job at Bayer in Wuppertal?

Here you can find an overview list with all current vacancies offered by Bayer in Wuppertal.

 

Think we should add further information and links? Write to us!

 

 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
email: recruiting@bayer.com
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates

11/3/17 - 11/4/17

CEMS Career Forum 2017 Budapest

11/7/17 - 11/8/17

bonding Firmenkontaktmesse Berlin

11/8/17

International Career Event (ICE)

All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Dec 19, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/locations/wuppertal/

Wuppertal

Wuppertal ist mit 350.000 Einwohnern die größte Stadt im Bergischen Land. Mit einem Grünflächenanteil von über einem Drittel ist sie zudem Deutschlands grünste Großstadt. Wuppertal ist die Geburtsstätte des Bayer-Konzerns. Bekannt ist sie aber vor allem für ein einzigartiges Nahverkehrsmittel: Seit mehr als 100 Jahren fährt die Wuppertaler Schwebebahn ihre Fahrgäste durch das Tal an der Wupper.

 

 
Bild anklicken, um Fotogalerie zu öffnen
 
 
     
 

Wuppertal

Werk:

Friedrich-Ebert-Str.475

42117 Wuppertal

Tel. 02323 0202-361 (Zentrale)

 
     

Der Standort Wuppertal auf einen Blick:

Mitarbeiter ca. 3.500
Bereiche

Pharmaceuticals

Bayer Business Services

Currenta

Anschrift:

 

Forschungszentrum:

Aprather Weg 18a

42113 Wuppertal

Werk:

Friedrich-Ebert-Str.475

42117 Wuppertal        

Tel. +49 202-361 (Zentrale)

Download: Anfahrt & Lageplan

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Standort Wuppertal

Seit wann gibt es Bayer in Wuppertal?

Der über 150 Jahre bestehende Bayer-Konzern hat seinen Ursprung im heutigen Wuppertal. Dort gründeten der Farbstoffhändler Friedrich Bayer und der Färbermeister Johann Friedrich Weskott 1863 die Offene Handelsgesellschaft „Friedr. Bayer et comp.“ für die Herstellung und der Verkauf von synthetischen Farbstoffen. Das Unternehmen wuchs rasant und wurde 1881 in eine Aktiengesellschaft umgewandelt, die ihren Hauptsitz zunächst in Wuppertal-Elberfeld hatte. Da das Unternehmen stetig expandierte, wurde der Standort bald zu klein. Deshalb kauft Bayer 1891 die Alizarinrot-Fabrik von Dr. Carl Leverkus & Söhne nördlich von Köln und später weiteres Gelände am Rhein hinzu. 1912 zog Bayer dann mit seinem Firmensitz ins heutige Leverkusen. Wuppertal ist aber bis heute ein wichtiger Produktions-, Forschungs- und Ausbildungsstandort von Bayer.

 

Hier können Sie eine Reise durch die spannende Geschichte von 150 Jahren Bayer unternehmen.

Woran arbeiten Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Wuppertal?

Am Standort Wuppertal arbeiten rund 3.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Bayer Pharma an der Entwicklung und Herstellung von innovativen und neuartigen Wirkstoffen auf den Gebieten Herz-Kreislauf und Augenheilkunde. Zum Standort Wuppertal gehören das Pharmaforschungszentrum in Wuppertal-Aprath und das Werk in Wuppertal-Elberfeld.

 

  • Pharmaforschungszentrum

Im Forschungszentrum am Aprather Weg arbeiten rund 1.400 Wissenschaftler und Laboranten an der Erforschung und Entwicklung neuer Wirkstoffe zur Behandlung von Augen- und Herz-Kreislauf-Krankheiten.

 

  • Werk

Rund 1.600 Pharma-Mitarbeiter sind im Werk an der Wupper tätig. Ca. 20 verschiedene Wirkstoffe werden hier hergestellt, bevor sie an anderen Bayer-Standorten zu Medikamenten weiterverarbeitet und in die ganze Welt versandt werden. Neben der Wirkstoffproduktion ist das Bayerwerk in Wuppertal ein wichtiger Standort für die chemische und biotechnologische Verfahrensentwicklung. Denn bevor neue Substanzen aus der Pharmaforschung in großen Mengen hergestellt werden können, müssen Chemiker, Biologen und Ingenieure geeignete Verfahren dafür entwickeln.

Was machen Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Wuppertal in ihrer Freizeit

  • Sport

Im SV Bayer Wuppertal kommen Sportbegeisterte aller Altersgruppen voll auf ihre Kosten. Das Breitensportangebot des Vereins reicht von Beachvolleyball über Fußball und Judo bis zum Tauchen oder Tischtennis. Der Verein erweitert sein Angebot von Jahr zu Jahr und bietet beispielsweise auch Reha-Sport an.

 

Angebot des SV Bayer Wuppertal

 

  • Kultur

Die Stadt Wuppertal bietet ein breites kulturelles Angebot. Unter der Leitung der 2009 verstorbenen Choreographin Pina Bausch brachte es das Wuppertaler Tanztheater zu weltweiter Berühmtheit. Neben den Wuppertaler Bühnen und dem Symphonieorchester Wuppertal ist das Tanztheater nur eines von zahlreichen kulturellen Veranstaltungsangeboten in der bergischen Stadt.

 

Umfangreicher Überblick zum kulturellen Angebot der Stadt

 

  • Natur

Wuppertal ist umgeben von den Wiesen und Wäldern des Bergischen Landes. Mit einem Grünflächenanteil von über einem Drittel ist Wuppertal Deutschlands grünste Großstadt. Ein besonderes Highlight für Natur- und Tierfreunde ist der Grüne Zoo Wuppertal. Der Tierpark beherbergt mehr als 4.500 Tiere in rund 450 Arten und zählt zu den landschaftlich reizvollsten Zoos der Welt.

 

Internet-Angebot des Grünen Zoos Wuppertal

 

  • Industriedenkmäler

Die Region Wuppertal-Solingen-Remscheid gehört zu den ältesten Industrie- und Wirtschaftsregionen Europas. Die alte Industriestadt Wuppertal verfügt über viele Orte und bedeutende Zeugnisse, an denen Industriegeschichte auch heute noch erfahrbar ist. Der Kalktrichterofen am Eskesberg, der Manuelskotten oder die Trasse der Rheinischen Eisenbahngesellschaft sind nur einige Monumente, die Industriegeschichte in Wuppertal heute noch erlebbar machen.

 

Mehr über die Industriegeschichte Wuppertals

Was ist das bekannteste Wahrzeichen der Stadt Wuppertal?

„Wer einmal mit der Wuppertaler Schwebebahn fährt, der vergisst sie nicht so leicht – wer zweimal mit ihr fährt, der vergisst sie nie!“, sagt ein Wuppertaler Sprichwort. In den letzten 100 Jahren hat es die Wuppertaler Schwebebahn zu internationaler Berühmtheit gebracht. Rund 80.000 Fahrgäste schweben jeden Tag darin über die Wupper. Für die Wuppertaler ist die Schwebebahn auf ihrer 13,3 km langen Strecke das wichtigste Nahverkehrsmittel.

 

Zu den Fahrplänen der Wuppertaler Schwebebahn

Was macht den Standort Wuppertal zum Arbeiten so attraktiv?

Viele Mitarbeiter schätzen die Campus-Atmosphäre des Forschungszentrums und die Betriebsamkeit im Werk. Das Arbeiten in Wuppertal wird geprägt von einer offenen und inspirierenden Arbeitskultur. Zudem begegnen sich viele Mitarbeiter auch außerhalb der Arbeit bei Sport-, Kultur- oder Freizeitangeboten. Das Pharma-Sommerfest auf dem Forschungsgelände in Wuppertal-Aprath genießt unter Bayer-Mitarbeitern und ihren Familien fast schon Kult-Status. Rund 4.000 Besucher genießen jedes Jahr die kulinarische Vielfalt und das umfangreiche Informations- und Unterhaltungsangebot bei Straßenfest-Atmosphäre. Vielleicht sind Sie demnächst auch dabei?

Job bei Bayer in Wuppertal gesucht?

Hier geht's zur Übersicht mit allen freien Stellenangeboten bei Bayer in Wuppertal.

 

Sie meinen, wir könnten weitere Informationen und Links ergänzen? Schreiben Sie uns gerne!

 

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

02.06.17

Traumberuf IT & Technik

08.06.17

JurStart

09.06.17

Business Contacts

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 19.12.2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/locations/wuppertal/