Gatersleben

Gatersleben is a section of Seeland, a town located in Salzland county in the German state of Saxony-Anhalt. Some 2,600 people reside in Gatersleben, north of the Harz Mountains. The village dates back 1,050 years and was incorporated into the town of Seeland in 2010. Its history goes as far back as the Stone Age. The Bayer Group has been operating its European Wheat Breeding Center in Gatersleben since 2012.

 

Click image to open gallery
 
 
     
 

Gatersleben>

Europäisches Weizenzuchtzentrum

Gatersleben

Im Leibniz-Institut für Pflanzengenetik

und Kulturpflanzenforschung

Corrensstraße 3

06466 Seeland

Phone: +49 394825-0

 
     

The Gatersleben site at a glance:

Workforce 18
Divisions & service companies

Crop Science

 

 

Address for visitors:

 

European Wheat Breeding Center Gatersleben

Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics and Crop Plant Research

Corrensstrasse 3

06466 Seeland

Germany

Phone: +49 394825-0

Download: Directions & map

Frequently asked questions about the Gatersleben site

In what areas do Bayer employees in Gatersleben mainly work?

Bayer employees at the European Wheat Breeding Center in Gatersleben are engaged in breeding new varieties of wheat. In addition, they manage the wheat breeding stations located in France and Ukraine. The employees at the European Wheat Breeding Center currently cultivate an approximately 40-hectare breeding nursery. The center further has laboratories, greenhouses and a seed treatment station.

What recreational activities does Gatersleben have to offer?

    • Culture
      The Association for Promoting Culture in Gatersleben (Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Kultur in Gatersleben e.V.) has set itself the goal of offering a diverse program of high-quality cultural events in this rural area. It organizes various events, such as chamber music concerts, song recitals, readings, talks on literary, historical or political topics, exhibitions, gallery visits and outings to sites of cultural or historical interest. A new program of events is published every six months.

 

  • Carnival
    A special attraction for natives of Germany’s Rhineland region: For such a small town, Gatersleben even has its own carnival association! Founded in 1968, the members of the “Gaterslebener Carneval Club e.V.” participate in the Carnival Monday Parade in Aschersleben and organize parties for the entire family.

Enjoying the outdoors in and around Gatersleben

Gatersleben is on the outskirts of the Selke Valley, the gateway to the Harz Mountain region, the highest of the upland areas in Northern Germany. It has plenty to offer outdoor types and sports enthusiasts. One insider tip is the “Selketal-Stieg” hiking trail established in 2006 by the Harz Transportation Authority. The off-road trail runs for 67 kilometers along the banks of the Selke River, passing through villages typical of the Harz region.

What historical places of interest are located in Salzland county?

    • Romanesque Road
      The Romanesque Road takes visitors on a discovery tour of the German Middle Ages. It boasts eighty Romanesque buildings at 65 different stations: Castles, cathedrals, monasteries and churches bear witness to the Christianization that took place in this area between the 10th and 13th centuries.
      The castles of Bernburg and Plötzkau, built over 1,000 years ago, are only about a half hour’s drive from Gatersleben.

 

  • Museum and Restaurant Boat
    In the fishing village of Breitenhagen, in the beautiful Elbe-Saale region, barges for the Elbe River were built in the town’s own boatyard up until 1914. The last remaining barge built in Breitenhagen – the “Marie Gerda” – was returned to its hometown and turned into a Museum and Restaurant on the banks of the Elbe. Visitors to the “Marie Gerda” can learn more about the history of inland shipping, enjoy a meal of the galley and even venture out on deck.

 

  • Salt water spa
    Just forty-five minutes from Gatersleben, in Schönebeck/Bad Salzelmen, is one of the oldest salt water spas in Germany. People have taken advantage of the healing power of natural mineral and salt water baths here since 1802. The special microclimate at this historic spa is perfect for a few hours of relaxation and enjoyment.

Searching for a job at Bayer in Gatersleben?

Here you can find an overview list with all current vacancies offered by Bayer in Gatersleben.

 

Think we should add further information and links? Write to us!

 

 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates

3/23/17 - 3/25/17

Postdoc WS Cardiovascular

3/31/17

INTERPHARM

4/3/17 - 4/4/17

European Conferences on Pharmaceutics

All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Jan 10, 2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/locations/gatersleben/

Gatersleben

Gatersleben ist ein Ortsteil der Stadt Seeland im Salzlandkreis in Sachsen-Anhalt. Rund 2.600 Menschen leben in dem 1.050 Jahre alten Örtchen nördlich des Harzes, das im Jahr 2010 in die Stadt Seeland eingemeindet wurde. Seine Geschichte reicht sogar bis in die Steinzeit zurück. Seit 2012 befindet sich in Gatersleben das Europäische Weizenzuchtzentrum des Bayer-Konzerns.

 

Bild anklicken, um Fotogalerie zu öffnen
 
 
     
 

Gatersleben>

Europäisches Weizenzuchtzentrum

Gatersleben

Im Leibniz-Institut für Pflanzengenetik

und Kulturpflanzenforschung

Corrensstraße 3

06466 Seeland

Telefon: +49 394825-0

 
     

Der Standort Gatersleben­­ auf einen Blick:

Mitarbeiter 18
Bereiche

Crop Science

 

 

Besucheranschrift:

 

Europäisches Weizenzuchtzentrum Gatersleben

Im Leibniz-Institut für Pflanzengenetik und Kulturpflanzenforschung

Corrensstraße 3

06466 Seeland

Telefon: +49 394825-0

Download: Anfahrt & Lageplan

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Standort Gatersleben

Woran arbeiten Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Gatersleben?

Im Europäischen Weizenzuchtzentrum Gatersleben arbeiten Bayer-Mitarbeiter an der Zucht neuer Weizensorten. Zusätzlich koordinieren sie die Weizenzuchtstationen in Frankreich und der Ukraine. Zurzeit bearbeiten die Mitarbeiter des Europäischen Weizenzuchtzentrums eine Zuchtgartenfläche von circa 40 Hektar. Außerdem befinden sich Labore, Gewächshäuser und eine Saatgutaufbereitungsstation in dem Weizenzuchtzentrum.

Welche Freizeitaktivitäten bietet Gatersleben?

    • Kultur
      Die Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Kultur in Gatersleben e.V. hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, in der ländlichen Region ein vielfältiges Angebot an qualitativ hochwertiger Kultur anzubieten. Die Gesellschaft organisiert unterschiedliche Veranstaltungen wie Kammermusik, Liederabende, Schriftstellerlesungen und Vortragsabende über literarische, historische und politische Themen sowie Ausstellungen, Galeriebesuche und kulturhistorische Exkursionen. Das aktuelle Veranstaltungsprogramm wird halbjährlich veröffentlicht.

 

  • Karneval
    Für Rheinländer besonders interessant: Der kleine Ort Gatersleben hat sogar seinen eigenen Karnevalsverein. Die Mitglieder des 1968 gegründeten Gaterslebener Carneval Club e.V. nehmen am Rosenmontagszug in Aschersleben teil und organisieren eigene Feste für die ganze Familie.

Natur erleben rund um Gatersleben

Gatersleben liegt am Rande des Selketals – dem Tor zum Harz. Das höchste Mittelgebirge Norddeutschlands hat für Naturfreunde und Sportler einiges zu bieten. Als Geheimtipp gilt der 2006 vom Harzer Verkehrsverbund ins Leben gerufene Selketal-Stieg. Die 67 km lange Wanderstrecke führt abseits der Straßen entlang des Flussufers der Selke durch typische harzer Ortschaften.

Welche historischen Besonderheiten findet man im Salzlandkreis?

    • Straße der Romantik
      Zu einer Entdeckungsreise in das Deutsche Mittelalter lädt die „Straße der Romantik“ ein. 80 romanische Baudenkmäler können hier an 65 verschiedenen Stationen bewundert werden: Burgen, Dome, Klöster und Kirchen zeugen noch heute von der Christianisierung, die zwischen dem 10. Und 13. Jahrhundert in dieser Gegend stattgefunden hat.
      Die vor mehr als 1.000 Jahren erbauten Schlösser in Bernburg und Plötzkau lassen sich mit dem Auto in einer guten halben Stunde erreichen.

 

  • Museums- und Restaurantschiff
    Im Schifferdorf Breitenhagen im wunderschönen Elbe-Saale-Winkel wurden bis 1914 Elbschleppkähne in der eigenen Werft gebaut. Der letzte in Breitenhagen verbliebene Kahn – die „Marie-Gerda“ – wurde in heimatliche Gefilde zurückgeholt und am Ufer der Elbe zum Museums- und Restaurantschiff umgebaut. Besucher der Marie-Gerda können sich nicht nur einen Einblick in die Geschichte der Binnenschifffahrt verschaffen, sondern auch das Essen der Kombüse genießen und sich sogar auf dem Schiff trauen lassen.

 

  • Soleheilbad
    Eine dreiviertel Stunde von Gatersleben entfernt in Schönebeck/Bad Salzelmen befindet sich das ältestes Soleheilbad Deutschlands. Hier wird die heilende Kraft der Natursole in Form von Badekuren bereits seit 1802 genutzt. Das besondere Mikroklima dieses historischen Heilbades lädt zum Entspannen und Genießen ein.

Job bei Bayer in Gatersleben gesucht?

Hier geht's zur Übersicht mit allen freien Stellenangeboten bei Bayer in Gatersleben.

 

Sie meinen, wir könnten weitere Informationen und Links ergänzen? Schreiben Sie uns gerne!

 

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

26.09.17

Ausbildungsbasar Berufskolleg Bergisch Land

27.09.17 - 28.09.17

Vocatium Köln

27.09.17

Ausbildungsexpo

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 10.01.2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/locations/gatersleben/