Darmstadt

Darmstadt is 30 km south of Frankfurt in the Rhine-Main region. With 152,000 residents, it is the fourth-largest city in the state of Hesse. Darmstadt is best-known in Germany as a hub of science and research. In addition to Darmstadt University of Technology and Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences, the city has over 30 research institutes, including the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, the GSI Helmholtz Center for Heavy Ion Research and the European Space Operations Center (ESA/ESOC). Darmstadt became known as the home of the Art Nouveau movement after an artist’s colony was founded in the city’s Mathildenhöhe neighborhood in 1899. Its most well-known athletic association is the national SV Darmstadt 98 soccer team.

 

Click image to open gallery
 
 
     
 

Darmstadt

Havelstraße 5

D-64295 Darmstadt

Phone: +49 6151 3305-0

 
     

The Darmstadt site at a glance:

Workforce Approx. 120
Divisions & service companies

Phytomedicines Supply

& Development Center

Consumer Health Bayer

 

 

Address for visitors:

 

Steigerwald Arzneimittelwerk GmbH

Havelstraße 5

64295 Darmstadt

Germany

Phone: +49 6151 3305-0

Internet: www.steigerwald.de

Email: info@steigerwald.de

Download: Directions

Frequently asked questions about the Darmstadt site

Since when has Steigerwald been part of Bayer?

Steigerwald Arzneimittelwerk GmbH is a long-standing family company founded in 1951. The phytopharmaceuticals manufacturer was acquired by Bayer AG in July 2013. In early 2016, the Germany-wide marketing and sales activities, and all brands and products of the former Steigerwald Arzneimittel GmbH were integrated into the Consumer Health division of Bayer Vital GmbH, Leverkusen. The site in Darmstadt will be retained and has even been expanded to fulfill its role as a phytopharmaceuticals competence center for plant-based OTC drugs. Apart from drug manufacturing, new phytopharmaceuticals also are developed here. Only sales activities for Steigerwald products are now managed by Bayer Vital.

What are Bayer Steigerwald’s leading products?

Bayer Steigerwald’s two best-selling brands are the plant-based gastrointestinal drug Iberogast® and the St. John’s wort preparation Laif® for treating depression. Both products belong to the group of phytopharmaceuticals, meaning medicines of plant origin. Compared to chemical drugs, phytopharmceuticals often are better tolerated while offering the same level of efficacy. However, the manufacturing process from plant to drug is highly complex. Iberogast, for instance, is a combination of individual extracts from nine different medicinal plants. Climate fluctuation during the growth season naturally can lead to variations in the makeup of the plants. For this reason, targeted plant selection and good agriculture and collection practices (GACP) are essential for ensuring the uniform quality and effectiveness of phytopharmaceuticals.

In what areas do Bayer employees in Darmstadt mainly work?

The Darmstadt site has 120 employees engaged in various areas. The three largest are:

 

    • Production
      Liquids production, filtration, filling and packaging of phytopharmaceuticals. The production of plant-based drugs must fully meet the requirements of good manufacturing practice (GMP).

 

    • Quality Unit
      The quality of drugs, extracts, intermediate products and end products is analyzed here. Compliance with all specified parameters must be ensured if these products are to be approved.

 

    • Innovation & Development
      Over 20 employees in Darmstadt develop new plant-based drugs in collaboration with distinguished universities and research institutes.

 

What do Bayer employees in Darmstadt do in their free time?

Darmstadt offers a tremendous range of recreational opportunities. Whether you like sports, culture or the outdoors, Darmstadt has something for everyone.

 

    • Sports
      Darmstadt has over one-hundred athletic clubs. The most popular are those for soccer and running. The City Run, Heinerfest Triathlon and Darmstadt Marathon are held annually. Many Darmstadt natives are fans of the SV Darmstadt 98 soccer club, which advanced in 2015 to Germany’s national league soccer ranks, and since then has been causing quite a stir, even though it is one of the smaller clubs.

 

    • Culture & Architecture
      In the Imperial Era, Darmstadt was the state capital of Hesse. Several, impressive, historic buildings from that period still exist, which shape the image of the city, including the Mathildenhöhe, an Art Nouveau artist’s colony of significance in historic architecture. It is a unified work of art comprising the “Hochzeits” Tower, an exhibition building, artists’ homes and a plane tree grove. Almost equally as famous is Darmstadt Palace, located in the center of downtown. Built in the 13th century, it is today a venue for weddings and events. The Darmstadt “Staatstheater”, which seats an audience of nearly 1,000, also is a leading center of the arts, offering a diverse program of music, dance, stage plays and concerts.

 

    • Nature
      The city has numerous parks and gardens for relaxing or taking a stroll, such as Prinz Emil Garden or the “Orangerie” with its Baroque manor house. The city also has a botanical garden and a wild game reserve originally built by Landgrave Georg Kranichstein. Darmstadt is surrounded by an extensive, forested region that is not economically exploited and is exclusively for recreational purposes.

 

What makes the Darmstadt site so attractive as a place to work?

The atmosphere at the site is informal and most employees are firmly rooted in the region. Many identify closely with the company and are enthusiastic about their involvement in the phytopharmaceuticals business. The acquisition by Bayer is slowly transforming Steigerwald into a globally operating company. The establishment of the Phytomedicines Supply & Development Center has strengthened the site long term, meaning that employees are enjoying many positive developments and share a spirit of optimism. Another reason for the site’s attractiveness is its location. Steigerwald is in downtown Darmstadt and offers good access to public transportation. Frankfurt Main Station is just 30 minutes away. Located close by are the Odenwald region, the vineyards of the “Hessische Bergstrasse” and interesting cities such as Heidelberg, Frankfurt and Wiesbaden.

Searching for a job at Bayer in Darmstadt?

Here you can find an overview list with all current vacancies offered by Bayer in Darmstadt.

 

Think we should add further information and links? Write to us!

 

 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates

4/27/17

VDI Hannover Messe

5/6/17 - 5/9/17

Postdoc WS Synthetic Organic Chemistry

5/16/17

KIT Career Fair

All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Jan 10, 2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/locations/darmstadt/

Darmstadt

Darmstadt liegt 30 km südlich von Frankfurt im Rhein-Main Gebiet. Mit ihren ungefähr 152.000 Einwohnern ist Darmstadt die viertgrößte Stadt Hessens. Bekannt ist Darmstadt vor allem als Wissenschaftsstadt und Forschungsstandort. Neben der Technischen Universität und der Fachhochschule Darmstadt, gibt es mehr als 30 Forschungsinstitute, u.a. die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung und das Europäische Raumflugkontrollzentrum (ESA/ESOC). Darmstadts Ruf als Zentrum des Jugendstils geht auf die 1899 gegründete Künstlerkolonie auf der Mathildenhöhe zurück. Der bekannteste Sportverein ist der Fußball-Bundesligist SV Darmstadt 98.

 

Bild anklicken, um Fotogalerie zu öffnen
 
 
     
 

Darmstadt

Havelstraße 5

D-64295 Darmstadt

Telefon: +49 6151 3305-0

 
     

Der Standort Darmstadt auf einen Blick:

Mitarbeiter ca. 120
Bereiche

Phytomedicines Supply

& Development Center

Consumer Health Bayer

 

 

Besucheranschrift:

 

Steigerwald Arzneimittelwerk GmbH

Havelstraße 5

64295 Darmstadt

Tel.: +49 6151 3305-0

Internet: www.steigerwald.de

Email: info@steigerwald.de

Download: Anfahrt

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Standort Darmstadt

Seit wann gehört Steigerwald zu Bayer?

Die Steigerwald Arzneimittelwerk GmbH ist ein traditionsreiches Familienunternehmen, das bereits 1951 gegründet wurde. Im Juli 2013 wurde der Phytopharmaka-Hersteller von der Bayer AG übernommen. Anfang 2016 wurden die deutschlandweiten Marketing- und Vertriebsaktivitäten sowie alle Marken und Produkte der Steigerwald Arzneimittel GmbH in die Division Consumer Health der Bayer Vital GmbH, Leverkusen, integriert. Der Standort in Darmstadt bleibt weiterhin bestehen und wurde als Phytopharmaka-Kompetenzzentrum für pflanzliche Selbstmedikation ausgebaut. Neben der Herstellung der Arzneimittel findet hier auch die Entwicklung neuer Phytopharmaka statt. Lediglich der Vertrieb der Steigerwald-Produkte erfolgt heute durch Bayer Vital.

Was sind die wichtigsten Produkte von Bayer Steigerwald?

Zu den zwei umsatzstärksten Marken von Bayer Steigerwald zählen das pflanzliche Magen-Darm-Mittel Iberogast® und das Johanniskraut-Präparat Laif® zur Behandlung von Depressionen. Beide Produkte gehören zur Gruppe der sogenannten Phytopharmaka, also Heilmittel pflanzlichen Ursprungs. Im Vergleich zu chemischen Medikamenten sind Phytopharmaka bei gleicher Wirksamkeit häufig besser verträglich. Allerdings ist die Herstellung von der Pflanze zum Arzneimittel sehr komplex. Iberogast setzt sich beispielsweise aus einer Kombination von Einzelextrakten aus neun Heilpflanzen zusammen. Natürliche klimatische Schwankungen beim Wachstum können zu Variationen bei den Inhaltsstoffen der Pflanzen führen. Daher ist eine gezielte Auswahl von Pflanzen und die Einhaltung der Regeln einer Guten Anbau- und Erntepraxis (GACP) für eine gleichbleibende Qualität und Wirksamkeit der Phytopharmaka besonders wichtig.

Woran arbeiten Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Darmstadt?

Am Standort Darmstadt gibt es ca. 120 Mitarbeiter in verschiedenen Funktionen. Die drei größten Bereiche sind:

 

    • Production
      Hier erfolgen Liquidaherstellung, Filtration und Abfüllung & Verpackung der Phytopharmaka. Die Produktion der pflanzlichen Arzneimittel muss die Regeln der Guten Herstellungspraxis (GMP) vollumfänglich erfüllen.

 

    • Quality Unit
      In diesem Bereich wird die Qualität der Arzneipflanzen, Extrakte, Zwischen- und Fertigprodukte analysiert. Nur bei Einhaltung aller Parameter der Spezifikation können diese jeweils freigegeben werden.

 

    • Innovation & Development
      Mehr als 20 Mitarbeiter entwickeln in Darmstadt neue pflanzliche Arzneimittel in Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen.

 

Was machen Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Darmstadt in ihrer Freizeit?

Das Freizeit-Angebot in Darmstadt ist riesig. Ob für Sport-, Kultur- oder Naturliebhaber – in Darmstadt ist für jeden etwas dabei.

 

    • Sport
      In Darmstadt gibt es mehr als einhundert Sportvereine. Besonders beliebt sind Fußball und Laufen. Jedes Jahr gibt es den Stadtlauf, den Heinerfest-Triathlon und den Darmstadt Marathon. Viele Darmstädter fühlen sich mit dem Traditionsclub SV Darmstadt 98 verbunden, der 2015 in die 1. Fußball-Bundesliga aufgestiegen ist und seither als kleiner Verein für Furore sorgen.

 

    • Kultur & Architektur
      Zu Kaiserzeiten war Darmstadt Landeshauptstadt von Hessen. Aus dieser Zeit stammen noch einige imposante historische Gebäude, die das Stadtbild von Darmstadt prägen. Hierzu gehört z.B. die Mathildenhöhe, eine architekturhistorische Kolonie des Jugendstils. Sie ist ein Gesamtkunstwerk aus Hochzeitsturm, Ausstellungsgebäude, Künstlerhäusern und Platanenhain. Fast genauso berühmt ist das Darmstädter Residenzschloss, das sich im Zentrum der Stadt befindet. Es wurde im 13. Jahrhundert erbaut und ist heute öffentlicher Ort für Hochzeiten und Veranstaltungen. Kulturell wertvoll ist zudem das Staatstheater Darmstadt mit fast 1.000 Zuschauerplätzen und einem vielfältigen Programm aus Musik, Tanztheater, Schauspiel und Konzerten.

 

    • Natur
      In der Stadt laden viele Parks und Gärten, wie z.B. der Prinz-Emil-Garten oder die Orangerie mit ihrer barocken Hofanlage, zum Entspannen und Spazierengehen ein. Darüber hinaus gibt es einen botanischen Garten und den Wildpark des Landgrafen Georg Kranichstein. Rund um Darmstadt steht ein großes Waldgebiet, das nicht wirtschaftlich genutzt wird, als Erholungsraum zur Verfügung.

 

Was macht den Standort Darmstadt so attraktiv zum Arbeiten?

Das Arbeitsklima am Standort ist familiär geprägt und die meisten Mitarbeiter sind fest in der Region verwurzelt. Viele identifizieren sich persönlich mit dem Unternehmen und zeigen eine hohe Begeisterung für den Phytopharmaka-Bereich. Mit der Übernahme durch den Bayer Konzern ändert sich das derzeitige Arbeitsfeld bei Steigerwald hin zu einer international agierenden Organisation. Mit dem Aufbau eines Phytomedicines Supply & Development Centers wurde der Standort langfristig gestärkt und es gibt daher viele positive Entwicklungen und eine gemeinsame Aufbruchsstimmung. Ein weiterer Grund für die hohe Attraktivität ist die Lage des Unternehmens. Steigerwald befindet sich im Zentrum von Darmstadt und bietet einen guten Anschluss an öffentliche Verkehrsmittel. Der Frankfurt Hbf. ist z.B. in knapp 30 Minuten erreichbar. In der näheren Umgebung befinden sich auch der Odenwald, die Hessische Bergstraße mit ihren Weingebieten und interessante Städte wie Heidelberg, Frankfurt und Wiesbaden.

Job bei Bayer in Darmstadt gesucht?

Hier geht's zur Übersicht mit allen freien Stellenangeboten bei Bayer in Darmstadt.

 

 

Sie meinen, wir könnten weitere Informationen und Links ergänzen? Schreiben Sie uns gerne!

 

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

02.06.17

Traumberuf IT & Technik

08.06.17

JurStart

09.06.17

Business Contacts

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 10.01.2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/locations/darmstadt/