Berlin

With a population of around 3.5 million, Berlin is Germany’s largest city. After the Wall came down in 1989, Berlin became the capital of Germany in 1990 and the seat of government in June 1991. Nowhere else is German history reflected so vividly as it is in Berlin. In addition to historic sites, like the Brandenburg Gate and the Berlin Wall, the city has innumerable other attractions and a unique cultural scene. Bayer has had offices in Berlin since acquiring Schering in 2006.

Click image to open galleryzoom
 
 
 
     
 

Berlin

Müllerstraße 178

13353 Berlin

Tel.: +49 30 468 1111

 
     

The Berlin site at a glance:

Workforce: Approx. 5,000
Divisions & service companies

Pharmaceuticals

Bayer Business Services

Currenta

Address:

 

Müllerstrasse 178

13353 Berlin

Germany

Phone: +49 30 468-1111

Download: Directions & map

Frequently asked questions about the Berlin site

Since when has Bayer had a location in Berlin?

In 2006, Bayer AG acquired the Berlin-based pharmaceuticals company Schering, which was renamed Bayer Schering Pharma AG in the same year. Its headquarters remained in Berlin. Bayer Schering Pharma was re-named Bayer Pharma AG in 2011, and integrated into Bayer AG as its Pharmaceuticals division in 2016.

In what areas do Bayer employees in Berlin mainly work?

Berlin manages the global activities of the Pharmaceuticals division. Strategic and management functions are based here, as are research and development, marketing, production and services. The focus of research and development in Berlin is oncology and women’s health. Global marketing teams manage the marketing of our products all over the world, and some of Bayer’s most important products are produced and packaged in the Berlin Supply Center. A number of Bayer AG functions are represented in Berlin, as are several service units of Bayer Business Services. Furthermore, our site in Berlin is a major training center, offering 16 different vocational training and dual-degree programs. With its 5,000 employees, Bayer is one of the biggest employers in Berlin.

In what part of Berlin is Bayer located?

Bayer is located in Berlin’s Wedding quarter. This former West Berlin neighborhood, with its 80,000 residents, is today part of the city’s Mitte district. Wedding is known for its multicultural flair, reflected also in its urban image. Its diversity is symbolized in its architecture, mainly Wilhelminian buildings mixed with council high-rises of the 1970s and 80s. The housing developments typical of the 1920s and 1930s are today found only in the African Quarter. The Bayer site in Wedding is on Müllerstrasse, just a few yards from the “Reinickendorfer Strasse” subway stop. The famous “Berlin Friedrichstrasse” station is just four stops away.

Where is the Government Quarter, with its famous buildings?

The Government Quarter is located in Berlin’s Tiergarten and Mitte districts, not far from Friedrichstrasse Station, and very close to the Brandenburg Gate. In the center is the Reichstag, the dome and roof terrace of which can be visited free of charge; prior registration is required. Close by are Paul Löbe House and Marie Elisabeth Lüders House, where the German Bundestag representatives have their offices. Directly opposite the Reichstag is the German Federal Chancellery. In the Government Quarter, visitors can sightsee on foot, or take a boat tour along the Spree River.

Are there any parks or green spaces in the big city of Berlin?

There most certainly are! The largest and most famous green areas in the center of Berlin are Tiergarten Park at Brandenburg Gate and Tempelhof Field, on the grounds of the former Tempelhof Airport. But Wedding also has quite a few green spaces. Rehberge Park was built in this district in the 1920s. Covering some 70 hectares, it offers visitors pedestrian and cycle paths, lawns, a small zoo, playgrounds, a sled run, athletic fields, restaurants and a historic open-air stage. There is also a swimming area at Plötzensee Lake that is over 100 years old – a quiet hideaway in the middle of the city.

 

Berlins Parks and Gardens Directory

What are Berlin’s most important cultural events?

The capital city’s cultural program is as diverse as its residents. Here is a short selection.

 

  • Museum Island

Museum Island is a tourist highlight for everyone interested in art. Situated in the middle of Berlin Mitte, on an island on the Spree River, are the Pergamon Museum, Old National Gallery, Bode Museum, and the Old and New Museums. Museum Island was named a Unesco World Heritage Site in 1999.

 

More information on Museum Island and its museums

 

Map of Museum Island

 

  • East Side Gallery

The East Side Gallery is along the longest preserved section of the Berlin Wall, in the Friedrichshain district, on the banks of the Spree River. It is both a memorial and an open-air gallery. After the Berlin Wall fell in 1990, 118 artists from 21 countries painted a 1,316 meter-long section of what the East German government termed the Anti- Fascist Protection Wall. The sections still remaining today are replicas completed in 2009 after restoration work.

 

East Side Gallery e.V. artists initiative

 

  • Friedrichstadt Palast

Numerous theaters are located along Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse and the Hackescher Markt. In their midst is the theater with the world’s largest stage: the Friedrichstadt Palast. Eighty meters wide and 110 long, the theater was completed in 1984 and is the last imposing piece of architecture built in East Germany. Some 700,000 visitors attend numerous shows and events at the Friedrichstadt Palast every year, such as the Berlinale.

 

Friedrichstadt Palast

Searching for a job at Bayer in Berlin?

Here you can find an overview list with all current vacancies offered by Bayer in Berlin.

 

Think we should add further information and links? Write to us!

 

 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates


All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Jan 10, 2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/locations/berlin/

Berlin

Berlin ist mit rund 3,5 Millionen Einwohnern die größte Stadt in Deutschland. Nach der Öffnung der Berliner Mauer 1989 wurde Berlin 1990 deutsche Hauptstadt. Zum Regierungssitz bestimmt wurde die Stadt im Juni 1991. Nirgendwo sonst spiegelt sich die deutsche Geschichte so intensiv wider wie in Berlin. Neben geschichtsträchtigen Orten wie dem Brandenburger Tor und der Berliner Mauer verfügt Berlin über eine Vielzahl weiterer sehenswerter Höhepunkte und ein einzigartiges kulturelles Angebot. Bayer ist seit der Übernahme von Schering im Jahr 2006 in Berlin ansässig.

 

Bild anklicken, um Fotogalerie zu öffnen
 
 
     
 

Berlin

Müllerstraße 178

13353 Berlin

Tel.: +49 30 468 1111

 
     

Der Standort Berlin auf einen Blick:

Mitarbeiter ca. 5.000
Bereiche

Pharmaceuticals

Bayer Business Services

Currenta

 

 

Anschrift:

 

Müllerstraße 178

13353 Berlin

Tel.: +49 30 468 1111

Download: Anfahrt & Lageplan

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Standort Berlin

Seit wann gibt es Bayer in Berlin?

2006 übernahm die Bayer AG den Berliner Pharmakonzern Schering, der noch im gleichen Jahr offiziell in „Bayer Schering Pharma AG“ umbenannt wurde. Der Hauptsitz des Unternehmens in Berlin blieb bestehen. 2011 wurde Bayer Schering Pharma in die Bayer Pharma AG umfirmiert und 2016 als Division Pharmaceuticals in die Bayer AG integriert.

In welchen Bereichen sind Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Berlin hauptsächlich tätig?

Von Berlin aus werden die weltweiten Aktivitäten der Division Pharmaceuticals gesteuert. Neben strategischen und steuernden Bereichen sind in Berlin vor allem Forschung und Entwicklung, Marketing, Produktion und Verpackung sowie Servicebereiche ansässig. Schwerpunkte der Forschung und Entwicklung in Berlin sind Onkologie und Frauengesundheit. Die globalen Marketing-Teams steuern von hier aus die Vermarktung unserer Produkte in aller Welt und im Supply Center Berlin werden einige der wichtigsten Produkte von Bayer produziert, abgefüllt und verpackt. Einige zentrale Funktionsbereiche der Bayer AG sind in Berlin vertreten, ebenso wie einige Servicebereiche der Bayer Business Services. Zudem ist unser Standort in Berlin ein großer Ausbildungsbetrieb mit 16 verschiedenen Ausbildungsgängen und dualen Studienangeboten. Insgesamt zählt Bayer mit seinen rund 5.000 Mitarbeitern zu den größten Arbeitgebern in Berlin. 

In welchem Stadtteil befindet sich Bayer in Berlin?

Bayer hat seinen Sitz im Berliner Stadtteil Wedding. Der ehemals Westberliner Bezirk gehört mit seinen gut 80.000 Einwohnern heute dem Bezirk Mitte an. Der Stadtteil Wedding ist geprägt durch das multikulturelle Zusammenleben seiner Bewohner, das sich auch im Stadtbild widerspiegelt. Das besteht größtenteils aus Altbauten der Gründerzeit und mehrgeschossigen Gebäuden des sozialen Wohnungsbaus der 1970er und 80er Jahre. Lediglich im „Afrikanischen Viertel“ sind vor allem die typischen Siedlungsbauten der 1920er und 30er Jahre zu finden. Der Bayer-Standort im Wedding befindet sich in der Müllerstraße nur einige Meter von der U-Bahn-Haltestelle „Reinickendorfer Straße“ entfernt. Von dort aus erreicht man den berühmten „Bahnhof Friedrichstraße“ nach nur vier Stationen.

Wo befindet sich das Regierungsviertel mit seinen berühmten Gebäuden?

Das Regierungsviertel liegt in den Berliner Ortsteilen Tiergarten und Mitte. Unweit des Bahnhofs Friedrichstraße und in direkter Nähe zum Brandenburger Tor befindet sich das Berliner Regierungsviertel. Mittelpunkt ist das Reichstagsgebäude, dessen Kuppel und Dachterrasse nach vorheriger Anmeldung kostenlos besichtigt werden können. In unmittelbarer Nähe sind das Paul-Löbe-Haus und das Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus angesiedelt, wo die Abgeordneten des Bundestages ihre Büros haben. Das Bundeskanzleramt befindet sich direkt Gegenüber des Reichstages. Das Regierungsviertel kann zu Fuß oder vom Wasser aus bei einer Bootstour entlang des Spreebogens besichtigt werden.

Findet man in der Großstadt Berlin auch Plätze im Grünen?

Unbedingt! Die größten und berühmtesten grünen Oasen im Zentrum Berlins sind der Große Tiergarten am Brandenburger Tor und das Tempelhofer Feld, das auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Flughafens Tempelhof entstanden ist. Aber auch der Wedding hat einiges an Grün zu bieten. In den 1920er Jahren wurde hier der Volkspark Rehberge erbaut. Die ca. 70 ha große Anlage bietet den Besuchern neben Spazier- und Radwegen sowie Liegewiesen auch Tiergehege, Spielplätze, eine Rodelbahn, Sportplätze, Gastronomie und eine historische Freilichtbühne. Mit dem Freibad Plötzensee findet sich dort außerdem ein Strandbad mit einer über 100-jährigen Tradition – eine ruhiges Kleinod mitten in der Großstadt.

 

Zu Berlins grünen Seiten

Welches kulturelle Angebot sollte man in Berlin nicht verpassen?

Das Kultur-Angebot in der Hauptstadt ist ebenso facettenreich wie ihre Bewohner. Hier finden Sie eine kleine Auswahl.

 

  • Museumsinsel

Ein touristisches Highlight für Kunstinteressierte ist sicherlich die Museumsinsel. Mitten in Berlin auf einer Insel in der Spree gelegen, befinden sich hier neben dem Pergamonmuseum und der Alten Nationalgalerie auch das Bode-Museum, das Alte- und das Neue Museum. Seit 1999 gehört die Museumsinsel zum Unesco-Weltkulturerbe.

 

Informationen zur Museumsinsel und ihren Museen

 

Zum Masterplan Museumsinsel

 

  • East Side Gallery

Die East Side Gallery befindet sich auf dem längsten noch erhaltenen Teilstück der Berliner Mauer im Stadtteil Friedrichshain direkt an der Spree. Sie ist zugleich Denkmal und Open-Air-Galerie. Nach der Öffnung der Berliner Mauer 1990 bemalten 118 Künstler aus 21 Ländern ein 1316 Meter langes Teilstück des ehemaligen „antifaschistischen Schutzwalls“. Die Teilstücke, die heute noch davon zu sehen sind, sind die im Jahr 2009 nach einer Sanierung entstandenen Repliken.

 

Zur Künstlerinitiative East Side Gallery e.V.

 

  • Friedrichstadtpalast

Von der Straße Unter den Linden über die Friedrichstraße bis zum Hackeschen Markt sind zahlreiche Theater zu finden. Mittendrin befindet sich die größte Theaterbühne der Welt: der Friedrichstadtpalast. Das 80 Meter breite und 110 Meter lange Theater ist der letzte Prachtbau, der 1984 in der DDR errichtet wurde. Fast 700.000 Besucher kommen jedes Jahr zu zahlreichen Shows, Gastspielen und Veranstaltungen wie der Berlinale in den Friedrichstadt Palast.

 

Zum Friedrichstadtpalast

Job bei Bayer in Berlin gesucht?

Hier geht's zur Übersicht mit allen freien Stellenangeboten bei Bayer in Berlin.

 

Sie meinen, wir könnten weitere Informationen und Links ergänzen? Schreiben Sie uns gerne!

 

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

27.05.17

Sticks & Stones

02.06.17

Traumberuf IT & Technik

08.06.17

JurStart

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 10.01.2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/locations/berlin/