Bergkamen

Bergkamen is in the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia, in Unna county. The town has a population of just about 50,000, and is surrounded by nature reserves and waterways. Its history in the Ruhr Valley extends back to Roman times, but it has existed in its current form since 1966, when five smaller municipalities were merged.

 

Click image to open gallery
 
 
     
 

Bergkamen

Ernst-Schering-Strasse 14,

D-59192 Bergkamen

Phone: +49 2307 65-2217

 
     

The Bergkamen site at a glance:

Workforce Approx. 1,500
Divisions & service companies

Pharmaceuticals

 

 

Address for visitors:

 

Ernst-Schering-Straße 14,

59192 Bergkamen

Germany

Phone: +49 2307 65-2217

Download: Directions & map

Frequently asked questions about the Bergkamen site

In what areas do Bayer employees in Bergkamen mainly work?

Some 1,500 employees at the Bergkamen Supply Center are engaged in producing active ingredients for contrast media, contraceptives and hormone replacement therapy. In total, over 60 different active ingredients are manufactured at the plant, which has been in operation for some 50 years. This makes Bergkamen the largest Bayer site for the production of pharmaceutical active ingredients.

What recreational activities does Bergkamen have to offer?

    • Cycling and hiking:
      Bergkamen has 100 km of cycling and hiking trails for all-day outings. The Beversee and Lippeauen nature reserves and the renaturalized "Grosses Holz” spoil tip in particular are popular destinations for excursions on foot or by bike. In addition, regional cycling routes go directly through town, including the “Römer-Lippe,” the Industrial Culture, the “LandesGartenSchau” and the NRW German Soccer routes. One special tour is to cycle along the Datteln-Hamm canal and take a break at the Westphalian Water Sports Center - Rünthe Marina.

 

  • Water sports:
    Apart from the two industrial docks on the Dattel-Hamm canal, Bergkamen also has a marina for pleasurecraft: Marina Rünthe. It is one of the largest marinas in North Rhine-Westphalia. Before becoming a harbor facility for recreational watercraft, it was a loading dock for sand, gravel and coal. Today it attracts numerous visitors who want to enjoy the holiday atmosphere along the banks of the canal. Apart from the water sports facilities and cycling paths, sports enthusiasts can also take advantage of the fitness center with badminton courts located at the marina.

Beversee and Mühlenbruch nature reserves

Bergkamen has one of the largest nature reserves in North Rhine-Westphalia: Beversee park, covering no less than 100 hectares. The Waldsee Lake there is home to many rare plant and animal species. Hobby birders like to observe the diverse birds on the lake from the shoreline viewing platform. The Mühlenbruch nature reserve, bordering Kamen to the southwest along Highway 61, is the perfect place for hiking with the entire family.

Where can you go to enjoy cultural events in Bergkamen?

Miners first dug for coal here in winter 1915, but now, 100 years later, the building attracts visitors interested in arts and entertainment: The Werne Coal Mine, which is a protected historic site, is today home to the Shaft III Cultural Center. Used as a multipurpose meeting place, it has seating for 800 and is the largest venue in Bergkamen.

Are there any remnants of the town’s long history?

In the neighborhood of Bergkamen-Oberaden for example. The largest Roman military camp north of the Alps was located here from 11 – 8/7 BC. Covering 56 hectares, the camp had two legions with 12,000 soldiers and up to 3,000 camp followers. It was surrounded by a 2.7 km-long defense wall made of wood and earth, sections of which were uncovered in September 2012. The authentic reconstruction of this Roman park is a highlight for tourists cycling the Römer-Lippe route.

Where do Bergkamen residents go on their free time?

The town of Bergkamen has a variety of events for residents and visitors. The region’s largest farmer’s market sets up every Thursday. Every year on Halloween, the “Lichtermarkt” attracts visitors to Bergkamen, where both young and old have the opportunity to become part of a unique work of art made of light. Another regular event is the Harbor Festival, held on the first weekend in June at Rünthe Marina. Health-conscious Bergkamen residents can also participate in the town’s Fitness Day, held on the first weekend in September on “Zentrumsplatz” square in the “Mitte” section of downtown.

Searching for a job at Bayer in Bergkamen?

Here you can find an overview list with all current vacancies offered by Bayer in Bergkamen.

 

Think we should add further information and links? Write to us!

 

 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates


All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Jan 10, 2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/locations/bergkamen/

Bergkamen

Bergkamen liegt in Nordrhein-Westfalen im Kreis Unna. Knapp 50.000 Menschen leben in der von Naturschutzgebieten und Wasserstraßen geprägten Stadt. Die Geschichte des Städtchens im Ruhrgebiet reicht bis zu den Römern zurück. In ihrer jetzigen Form existiert sie seit dem Zusammenschluss von fünf kleineren Gemeinden im Jahr 1966.

 

Bild anklicken, um Fotogalerie zu öffnen
 
 
     
 

Bergkamen

Ernst-Schering-Strasse 14,

D-59192 Bergkamen

Tel.: +49 2307 65-2217

 
     

Der Standort Bergkamen auf einen Blick:

Mitarbeiter ca. 1.500
Bereiche

Pharmaceuticals

 

 

Besucheranschrift:

 

Ernst-Schering-Straße 14,

59192 Bergkamen

Tel.: +49 2307 65-2217

 

Download: Anfahrt & Lageplan

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Standort Bergkamen

Woran arbeiten Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Bergkamen?

Im Supply Center Bergkamen arbeiten rund 1.500 Mitarbeiter an der Produktion von Wirkstoffen für Kontrastmittel, Empfängnisverhütung und Hormonersatztherapie. Insgesamt werden in dem Werk mit über 50-jähriger Tradition 60 verschiedene Wirkstoffe hergestellt. Damit ist Bergkamen der größte Bayer-Standort zur Produktion pharmazeutischer Wirkstoffe.

Welche sportlichen Freizeitaktivitäten hat Bergkamen zu bieten?

    • Radfahren und wandern:
      Das rund 100 km umfassende Rad- und Wanderwegenetz in Bergkamen lädt zu ausgedehnten Touren ein. Besonders die Naturschutzgebiete Beversee und Lippeauen sowie die renaturierte Bergehalde Großes Holz sind beliebte Ziele für Ausflüge zu Fuß oder auf dem Rad. Mit der Römer-Lippe-Route, der Route der Industriekultur, der LandesGartenSchau-Route und der Deutschen Fußball Route NRW führen zudem einige überregionale Radrouten direkt durch die Stadt. Ein Highlight ist das Radeln entlang des Datteln-Hamm-Kanals mit einem kleinen Zwischenstopp am Westfälischen Sportbootzentrum Marina Rünthe.

 

  • Wassersport:
    Neben zwei industriegewerblichen Häfen am Dattel-Hamm-Kanal gibt es in Bergkamen auch einen Sportboothafen: die Marina Rünthe. Sie zählt zu den größten Freizeithäfen in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Vor ihrer Zeit als Freizeithafen wurden hier Sand, Kies und Kohle umgeschlagen. Heute kommen zahlreiche Besucher, um das Urlaubsflair am Ufer zu genießen. Sportbegeisterte finden neben den Wassersporteinrichtungen und Radwegen auch ein Fitness-Center mit Badminton-Halle am Yachthafen.

Naturschutzgebiete „Beversee“ und „Mühlenbruch“

In Bergkamen befindet sich eines der größten Naturschutzgebiete Nordrhein-Westfalens: ganze 100 Hektar ist der Beversee groß. Der Waldsee ist Heimat vieler selten gewordener Pflanzen- und Tierarten. Die vielfältige Vogelwelt auf dem See können Hobby-Ornitologen von einer Aussichtsplattform am Ufer aus beobachten. Zu Wanderungen mit der ganzen Familie lädt außerdem das Naturschutzgebiet Mühlenbruch, das sich südwestlich der Bundesstraße 61 an der Stadtgrenze zu Kamen befindet.

Wo lässt sich in Bergkamen Kultur genießen?

Wo die Kumpels im Winter 1915 erstmals Kohle gefördert haben, kommen 100 Jahre später Kulturinteressierte auf ihre Kosten: Die unter Denkmalschutz stehende Zeche Werne beheimatet heute das Kulturzentrum Schacht III. Es wird als multifunktionales Begegnungszentrum genutzt und ist mit 800 Sitzplätzen der größte Veranstaltungsraum in Bergkamen.

Wo ist von der weit zurückreichenden Geschichte der Region noch etwas zu sehen?

Zum Beispiel im heutigen Ortsteil Bergkamen-Oberaden. Hier befand sich von 11 – 8/7 v. Chr. das größte römische Militärlager nördlich der Alpen. Auf einem Areal von 56 Hektar Fläche beherbergte das Lager zwei Legionen mit rund 12.000 Mann Besatzung und einem Tross von bis zu 3.000 Personen. Beschützt wurde die Anlage von einer 2,7 km langen Mauer aus Holz und Erde, die seit September 2012 wieder in Teilen sichtbar ist. Die authentische Rekonstruktion des Römerparks stellt für Touristen auf dem Fahrradweg der Römer-Lippe-Route ein absolutes Highlight dar.

Wo treffen sich die Bergkamener in ihrer Freizeit?

Die Stadt Bergkamen bietet Bürgern und Besuchern verschiedene Veranstaltungen an, auf denen sie sich regelmäßig treffen können. Jeden Donnerstag findet in der Innenstadt der größte Wochenmarkt der Region statt. Jährlich zu Helloween lockt der Lichtermarkt Besucher nach Bergkamen. Jung und Alt haben dann die Gelegenheit, Teil eines einzigartigen Lichtkunstwerkes zu werden. Eine weitere regelmäßige Veranstaltung ist das Hafenfest, das immer am ersten Wochenende im Juni am Yachthafen Marina Rünthe stattfindet. Gesundheitsbewusste Bergkamener nehmen außerdem am Gesundheitstag der Stadt teil, der an jedem ersten Septemberwochenende auf dem Zentrumplatz im Stadtteil Mitte angeboten wird.

Job bei Bayer in Bergkamen gesucht?

Hier geht's zur Übersicht mit allen freien Stellenangeboten bei Bayer in Bergkamen.

 

Sie meinen, wir könnten weitere Informationen und Links ergänzen? Schreiben Sie uns gerne!

 

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

26.07.17 - 28.07.17

Naturwissenschaftliche Schnuppertage

09.09.17

4Starters! Die Berufemesse

16.09.17

Beruf konkret

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 10.01.2017   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/locations/bergkamen/