R&D IT: Information technology for world-class research and development

Digitalization is opening up new possibilities in many areas, including research and development at Bayer. R&D IT supports the entire research and development process, from identification of a potential active substance candidate to its successful market launch and beyond.

Under its guiding principle, “Enabling Word Class R&D,” R&D IT plans, develops, implements and operates customized IT solutions for Bayer's Research and Development departments. IT business partners first work closely with researchers to determine the optimal IT support they need for their work, then the project managers, consultants, application managers, developers and application specialists implement the results in projects. With help like this from R&D IT, Research and Development can continuously increase its efficiency and free up capacities for new business processes and innovations. Some 200 people work in R&D IT in Germany, primarily at the German sites where research and development is conducted: Berlin, Leverkusen, Wuppertal, Monheim and Frankfurt. Outside Germany, R&D IT has locations at Bayer's other research centers: New Jersey, USA; Peking, China; Osaka, Japan.

 

R&D IT for Pharmaceuticals

To support research and development in the Pharmaceuticals Division, individual teams exist for each phase: research, development, clinical study and registration. The 140 experts in this area work on how processes and systems can be continuously optimized to deliver the best-possible results and decision-making criteria. They focus on how to handle big data from genomics studies, substance libraries, high-throughput screening, chromatography processes, pharmacovigilance databases and clinical studies as well as health data. R&D IT helps to filter this data, culling from it the most relevant information. We want to learn from this information how to develop drugs in a more targeted process, with greater efficacy and fewer side-effects, and ultimately to contribute to the better quality of life afforded by personalized medicine. Modeling and simulation applications additionally help, for instance, to determine how specific active substances behave inside an organism or to optimize doses in clinical studies.

R&D IT for Crop Science

For the Crop Science Division, R&D IT has dedicated teams for chemical and biological research, shared systems and development. Their tasks include capturing and analyzing laboratory results, automating research processes, providing mobile support for field research and modeling and simulating research data.

How can working in R&D IT best be described?

Flat hierarchies, open-plan offices and informal working relationships are just some of the key features you’ll find in the R&D IT community. There also are diverse opportunities for career development and always new tasks to master.

 

R&D IT employees

In the following videos, employees from various units of R&D IT explain what they like most about their work, what experience they have acquired to date and why they feel they are in good hands at Bayer.

 

Viktoria Erikson

Viktoria Eriksson is a junior professional in R&D IT at Bayer Business Services. She works on the question of how to get the most informative results from bioinformatics research using computer-assisted methods. After completing her PhD and post-doctoral work in biochemistry and molecular biology, she relocated from the Netherlands to Germany for her new job. She talks about her career in her video profile, reveals what she likes so much about working for Bayer, and explains her particular role in assisting Research and Development at the company.

 

 

Barbara Gniech

Barbara Gniech is head of an R&D IT team in Bayer Business Services that develops and markets IT applications for chemical research at Bayer CropScience. In her video profile, she talks about striking the right balance between her family life and career, explains how she encourages her co-workers’ professional development and provides an insight into her own managerial career.

 

 

 

Carsten Stauffer

Carsten Stauffer is an IT business partner in Crop Science. In his video profile, he describes his career in the R&D IT community, what positions he has held at Bayer and how he works with researchers to provide the IT support they need in the laboratory and the field.

 

 

 

 

 

Getting started

R&D IT job postings are listed in Job Search under the functional areas of “Research and Development” and “Information Technology.” If you don't find a suitable position right away, we encourage you to take advantage of the option of creating an applicant profile and having the Job Alert function notify you as soon as a job opening is posted that matches your criteria. When filling a position, HR also looks through the registered applicants first and contacts them directly if their profile fits the requirements.

Job Search


Bayer has launched a new recruiting system that makes it faster and easier for you to apply. Therefore we have two Login-possibilities:

Online application - Login for applications before October 23, 2017

Online application - Login for applications after October 23, 2017

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
email: recruiting@bayer.com
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates


All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Apr 22, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/functional-areas/research_development_it/index.html

IT für weltklasse Forschung und Entwicklung

Die Digitalisierung eröffnet auch der Forschung und Entwicklung bei Bayer immer neue Möglichkeiten, Produkte zu entwickeln, die das Leben von Mensch, Tier und Pflanze verbessern. Dabei unterstützt die R&D IT den gesamten Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprozess, von der Identifikation eines potentiellen Wirkstoffkandidaten bis zur erfolgreichen Markteinführung und darüber hinaus.

Unter dem Leitmotiv „Enable world class R&D“ plant, entwickelt, implementiert und betreibt R&D IT maßgeschneiderte IT-Lösungen für die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbereiche von Bayer. IT Business Partner stimmen sich eng mit den Forschern dazu ab, wie die optimale IT-Unterstützung für ihre Arbeit aussieht, und Projektmanager, Berater, Application Manager, Entwickler und Anwendungsspezialisten setzen diese dann in Projekten um. Mit Hilfe von R&D IT kann die Forschung und Entwicklung so immer wieder ihre Effizienz steigern und Kapazitäten freisetzen, um sich mit neuen Geschäftsprozessen und Innovationen zu beschäftigen. Insgesamt arbeiten in Deutschland rund 200 Personen in der R&D IT, vorrangig an den Standorten in Deutschland, an denen auch die Forschung von Bayer ansässig ist: in Berlin, Leverkusen, Wuppertal, Monheim und Frankfurt. Im Ausland ist R&D IT an den weiteren Forschungszentren von Bayer vor Ort: in New Jersey, USA, in Peking, China und in Osaka, Japan.

 

R&D IT für Pharma

Für die Unterstützung der Forschung und Entwicklung in der Division Pharmaceuticals gibt es Teams für die Forschungsphase, die Entwicklungsphase, die Phase der klinischen Studien und die Zulassung. Die rund 140 Experten beschäftigen sich damit, wie die Prozesse und Systeme ständig optimiert werden können und bestmögliche Erkenntnisse und Entscheidungsgrundlagen liefern. Im Fokus stehen der Umgang mit enormen Datenmengen (Big Data) aus Genomics-Studien, aus Substanzbibliotheken und High Throughput Screening, aus Chromatographie-Prozessen, Pharmakovigilanz-Datenbanken, Klinischen Studien und Gesundheitsdaten. Mit Hilfe der R&D IT filtern wir aus den Daten die wirklich relevanten Informationen heraus, aus denen wir lernen wollen, wie wir Medikamente zielgerichteter, mit höherer Wirksamkeit und weniger Nebenwirkungen entwickeln und im Sinne einer personalisierten Medizin zu einem besseren Leben beitragen können. Außerdem helfen Modellierungs- und Simulationsanwendungen dabei zu berechnen, wie sich beispielsweise bestimmte Wirkstoffe im Organismus verhalten, oder um Dosierungen in klinischen Studien zu optimieren.

R&D IT für Crop Science

Für die Unterstützung der Division Crop Science gibt es dedizierte Teams für die chemische und biologische Forschung, gemeinsam genutzte Systeme und die Entwicklung. Die Aufgaben reichen von der Erfassung und Auswertung von Ergebnissen im Labor, über die Automatisierung von Forschungsabläufen und die mobile Unterstützung in der Freilandforschung bis hin zur Modellierung und Simulation von Forschungsdaten.

Was macht das Arbeiten bei R&D IT aus?

Flache Hierarchien, offene Arbeitsräume und ein lockeres Miteinander sind nur einige der Eigenschaften, die die Arbeit bei R&D IT ausmachen. Daneben gibt es vielfältige Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten und immer wieder neue Aufgabenstellungen zu meistern.

 

Mitarbeiter bei R&D-IT

In den folgenden Videos erzählen Mitarbeiter aus verschiedenen Bereichen der R&D IT darüber, was sie an ihrer Arbeit besonders schätzen, welche Erfahrungen sie bisher gesammelt haben und warum sie sich bei Bayer gut aufgehoben fühlen.

 

Viktoria Erikson

Viktoria Eriksson ist Berufseinsteigerin in der R&D IT bei Bayer Business Services. Sie arbeitet an der Fragestellung, wie man computergestützt die aussagekräftigsten Erkenntnisse aus wissenschaftlichen Forschungsergebnissen der Bioinformatik gewinnen kann. Die promovierte Biochemikerin und Molekularbiologin ist nach ihrem Studium und anschließendem Postdoc für ihren neuen Job aus den Niederlanden nach Deutschland gezogen. In ihrem Videoportrait schildert sie ihren Werdegang, warum es sie reizt, bei Bayer zu arbeiten, und wie sie mit ihrer Arbeit die Forschung und Entwicklung bei Bayer unterstützt.

 

 

Barbara Gniech

Barbara Gniech leitet bei Bayer Business Services R&D IT ein Team, das IT-Anwendungen für die chemische Forschung bei Crop Science entwirft und betreibt. In ihrem Videoportrait berichtet sie darüber, wie es ihr gelingt, Familie und Beruf miteinander zu vereinen, wie sie ihre Mitarbeiter weiterentwickelt und ihre eigene Karriere als Führungskraft verfolgt.

 

 

 

Carsten Stauffer

Carsten Stauffer ist IT Business Partner bei Crop Science. In seinem Videoportrait schildert er seinen Werdegang in der R&D IT-Community, welche Aufgaben er bereits bei Bayer übernehmen durfte und wie er im direkten Austausch mit den Forschern für die passende IT-Unterstützung im Labor oder bei Feldversuchen sorgt.

 

 

 

Ihre Bewerbung

Die ausgeschriebenen Stellen von R&D IT finden Sie in der Job-Suche in den Funktionsbereichen „Forschung und Entwicklung“ sowie „Informationstechnologie“. Sollte derzeit keine für Sie attraktive Stelle dabei sein, nutzen Sie gerne die Möglichkeit, Ihr Bewerberprofil anzulegen und sich per Job Alert informieren zu lassen, sobald eine Ihren Kriterien entsprechende Stelle ausgeschrieben wird. Zudem werden bei einer neu zu besetzenden Stelle die bereits registrierten Bewerber durchgesehen und bei Eignung direkt kontaktiert.

Job-Suche


Aufgrund einer E-Recruiting-Systemeinführung haben wir zur Zeit zwei Login-Bereiche für Bewerber.

Für Bewerbungen vor dem 23.10.2017:

Für Bewerbungen nach dem 23.10.2017:

Schüler, die sich für eine Ausbildung beworben haben, können sich hier einloggen:

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

E-Mail: recruiting@bayer.com

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

23.11.17 - 24.11.17

Absolventenkongress

30.11.17

BiZ Solingen

02.12.17

Medizinerkongress "Operation Karriere"

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 22.04.2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/functional-areas/research_development_it/