We are IT. You too?

More than 4,700 IT employees in some 68 countries, with four large cross-functional IT hubs in Germany, the United States, China and Singapore, are the game changers of digital transformation at Bayer. IT is the basis for all of our businesses, and our IT employees are the movers and shakers driving digital innovation at Bayer, across all divisions and functions.

zoom

Bringing great ideas to life

Because it is organized as an operating model with a smoothly functioning IT leadership team and strong IT operations, as well as advisory IT Business Partnering for each division, each IT hub and each country IT unit, Bayer IT is able to concentrate on each of its customer's specific requirements.

We have IT operations at 763 sites in 92 countries – with roughly 1.2 trillion emails per year, more than 75,000 smartphones, tablets and hyper-connected employees, 36 productive ERP systems with 137,000 users, and approximately 1,000 transactions per day, to cite just a few examples. In addition, our IT professionals work with flexible, agile technologies on developing new products for patients, physicians, farmers and animals. Expressed in numbers, these achievements include around 700 specialized applications for our R&D and 300 digital projects a year for our Pharmaceuticals, Consumer Health, Crop Science and Animal Health divisions.

Crowdsourcing and coworking are methods used on an everyday basis – after all, our IT colleagues are highly interconnected not only with one another, but also in many innovation initiatives outside of Bayer. This is because we need the best minds to bring the best ideas to life.

What is it that makes our IT colleagues into heroes? Well, they are unbeatable and ingenious when it comes to digital expertise; they are sharply focused at all times; and they bring great passion to the task of creating solutions that ensure a better life for people, plants and animals.

IT areas in focus

Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning

Artificial intelligence (AI) in general has become incorporated into a wide variety of processes at Bayer, along with the various forms of machine and deep learning (ML). One challenge is how to making productive use of the significant amounts of data available to us. Bayer has access to huge troves of data – ranging from information about patients as part of research and development to areas of operations like supply chain or sales and marketing – and we would like to boost its value with the latest information technologies.

The intelligent evaluation of case histories, medications, and diagnoses can contribute to patients being better helped by personalized medicine in the future. In logistics, AI can anticipate supply bottlenecks in order to ensure the delivery of key crop protection products to farmers. Likewise, AI can more precisely predict pest infestations. And our work environment at Bayer can be improved by automating processes. For example, how can new cognitive technologies like speech and image recognition simplify and optimize the interaction between people and systems? We want to offer our employees the latest, most efficient technologies for this.

Our AI labs are bringing together expertise on AI from across the entire group. Doing so supports interaction between our business areas that test and develop concrete applications for special use, interact with external experts, and offer internal training and instruction.

Getting started

Bayer gives you the opportunity to explore different business requirements. We need both your solid AI expertise and your flexibility in becoming acquainted with various business areas. As an AI and ML expert, you will have the opportunity to work not only in the AI labs and the IT department, but also in areas like Drug Discovery, Pharma, R&D Crop Science, and Engineering & Technology.

You are the intermediary between our business colleagues and the latest technology. For example, if you are heading a project with scientists attempting to identify tumors or cell characteristics, you will ideally have a background in biology or the natural sciences. And whether we are dealing with advanced predictive analytics programs for Finance or driving digitalization for field staff, HR, or plant engineering and construction at our production facilities with AI solutions – the focus is always on the user, and it is our job to create a meaningful bridge between their requirements and artificial intelligence applications.

Artificial intelligence at Bayer – a practical example

Digital assistants for internal business processes are still in their infancy. We are evaluating how they can help our employees with their day-to-day work. How about an assistant who attends meetings, books rooms, and also takes notes? Or an assistant who provides proactive help on trips and automatically rebooks when travel is disrupted? To develop suitable solutions, we have to understand how the algorithms of AI systems function and how they can be meaningfully integrated into our business processes.

 

Data Science

In our digital world, data are the decisive raw material for developing new products and services. Bayer has a tremendous amount of data and this translates into fantastic opportunities for Data Science to influence business decision making. Projects range from financial analysis to detect outliers, analyses of biomedical data to find new solutions for patients and the optimization of product supply to evaluating satellite images for digital farming. After all, we need an extremely diverse range of solutions for our different fields of business.

At Data Science, we are true “geeks.” We enjoy using statistical and mathematical tools to make the world a better and more efficient place, turning Bayer into a true digital company. Yet as fascinated as we are by statistics, we always put patients, customers and users at the center of our projects.

Your entry

Data Science offers you the opportunity to solve complex analytical problems and collaborate closely with a wide range of units throughout Bayer – for example, Corporate Finance, Crop Science, Pharmaceutical Research or Regulatory Affairs. Such a wide range of data science projects is otherwise only found in consulting companies.

You start off as part of a young, dynamic and interdisciplinary team of data scientists, developing and deploying innovative analytical solutions. This then opens the door to many different attractive positions across all Bayer divisions. The Data Science function aims to get things done and is highly focused on creating tangible value. In this respect you can expect to be challenged but also rewarded with great career opportunities across all Bayer divisions.

Data science at Bayer – a case study

Producing goods and meeting market demand efficiently and without waste is an extremely difficult task. The Data Science team engaged recently with a production site to optimize the packaging scheduling. Within a couple of months we built a simulation tool to run “what-if” scenarios that both facilitated more efficient production and saved several workdays every month.

 

Enterprise Architecture

If you want to work in IT at Bayer, you will be able to appreciate just how much IT we have here. Our international information and software architecture is extremely complex, and the Enterprise Architecture (EA) group leads the effort to ensure continuous increased digitalization of our life science business. This includes how we use new technologies and flexible and interactive systems with lean processes to deliver innovation in our fields of expertise to market. We maintain oversight of the entire IT architecture at Bayer and direct the streamlined, continuous and secure integration of digital and conventional IT domains as well as the retirement of old applications.

Our work begins with translating our business strategy into IT architecture and continues with extrapolating and developing concepts for our business units and implementing concrete solutions. Our responsibilities include the decentralized roll-out of new applications and the shift toward increasingly shorter intervals for software releases as well as shutting down and decommissioning old systems. We identify and evaluate new technological trends and provide support with our architecture community in the business areas with the help of guidelines, best practices and training in using new IT applications.

Your Start in Enterprise Architecture

Due to the size of our company, at Bayer we differentiate between central enterprise architecture management, domain management for organizational units such as Marketing & Sales and Research & Development, and solution architecture. Since the three levels of EA require completely different skills and experience, interesting growth and development opportunities are available for both recent graduates and experienced specialists.

With a few years of experience, consider a career in domain management for Marketing & Sales or Research & Development. You can build bridges between the overarching Enterprise Architecture management team, which is responsible for comprehensive strategies, and the solution architects who focus on the resources and techniques for implementing tactical solutions to business-related IT requirements. We generally work very closely with one another. Above all, we are looking for serious team players with advanced analytical skills who can make sense of complex relationships and abstract specifications and transform them into concrete tasks.

Enterprise Architecture at Bayer – a practical example

Domain Management at Marketing & Sales wants new, technical forms of dialogue with our customers, including pharmacies, physicians and farmers. We are looking for new, innovative solutions and are making specific recommendations to the divisions. It is essential that we precisely understand the business requirements and work closely with the business and solution architects to answer such questions as: What can we achieve in what time frame with what level of effort? What already exists at Bayer that could be adapted or enhanced?

 

Integration & Cloud Computing

Speeding up clinical trials with artificial intelligence, bringing in better harvests with less crop protection thanks to the Internet of Things (IoT), maintaining highly complex production facilities more securely and more efficiently with augmented reality. The future of our life science business relies on us using and continuing to develop new digital solutions that improve life on Earth. In Digital Foundation & Integration, it’s our job to make these largely cloud-based services available to the Group worldwide.

In essence, it’s up to us to listen very closely, understand the requirements of our customers in the pharmaceutical and crop protection businesses, and then design specific IT solutions. This involves using agile working methods such as Scrum, building interdepartmental teams and developing work packages together. Some of our day-to-day tasks include, for instance, creating user interfaces for a positive user experience, writing data models, establishing secure connections to cloud services, expanding analytical services and enhancing our own data with big data to increase the accuracy of claims.

Your entry

You will work on specific projects with colleagues from both IT and the business. This kind of close collaboration is what makes starting at Bayer so interesting. Because we work on interdisciplinary projects, we value wide-ranging skill sets, such as those held by mathematicians, engineers, natural scientists and technicians with in-depth or specific expertise in IT. That said, we’re also happy to hear from IT specialists with backgrounds in R&D, marketing or engineering. A sound understanding of IT infrastructures, such as Active Directory, firewalls, proxies, gateways and new technologies such as container and API management is an advantage. Bayer also helps its employees build on their wide-ranging expertise when it comes to their personal development.

Typical job profiles in this field include cloud service manager, cloud architect, IT project manager and application manager. As a career starter, you will initially be working on projects with experienced colleagues. Your interdisciplinary skills will then allow you to lead larger projects on your own, to switch from an R&D IT project to R&D in Pharmaceuticals or Crop Science, or even take on different roles within the Group.

Integration & Cloud Computing at Bayer – a case study

We monitor plants using a range of cameras fitted with various optical sensors (e.g. infrared, UV), and apply contrast media to enhance the plants’ characteristics. This allows us to make precise, time-resolved recordings of how the plants grow and identify the factors that influence this process. We then build on this work, deriving optimization approaches for the evaluation, developing them into optimization procedures and then automating them using state-of-the-art cloud technologies.

 

IT security

At Bayer, innovations are our passion. And we must safeguard them against loss, malfunctions and cybercrime. That’s why security is one of the most crucial areas of our activities in IT, where an array of challenges await you. For example, model-based solutions in the cloud are increasingly being used to develop new active ingredients for medications or crop protection. And joint research with other companies in hybrid cloud partner networks poses particular challenges for IT security. Employees expect seamless data exchange, regardless of the location they are working from. All this requires secure and practicable solutions.

So, in the area of IT security you will work closely together with research and development, product supply, and marketing and sales experts from our Pharmaceuticals, Consumer Health and Crop Science divisions. At the same time, our exacting standards make us a driving force behind the developments of leaders in technology.

Your entry

Most of our IT security experts start out their careers on one of our development teams, which implement our solutions. This will allow you to become familiar with our business on a variety of cross-division and cross-functional projects in an international environment.

This experience will equip you for jobs in many fields. You can become a proven expert in one or more specialty areas in IT security, for example in software-defined infrastructure, cybersecurity or security by design. You may take on responsibility for entire IT architecture segments, or lead teams working on demanding international IT security projects.

IT Security at Bayer – a case study

Migraine headaches can often put people out of action for hours. In order to have a desired effect on these painful attacks, it is particularly important to take migraine medication at the right time. With this in mind, Bayer Pharma collaborated with colleagues from IT to develop a solution that relies on stress hormones to enable a migraine sufferer to detect the onset of an attack. The solution uses sensors placed on the patient’s skin to transmit signals to their smartphone. Then the person receives a notification indicating whether it is advisable to take a medication. Taking the medication in time makes it possible to greatly reduce the duration of the migraine and the pain involved.

 

Testimonials

Be part of the future with Bayer!

As Digital Health Innovation Manager, Ulf Hengstmann is an interface between the IT, Pharmaceutical and CropScience Research & Development worlds. In his blog post, he tells his personal, very exciting career story and the benefits that digital transformation can bring to our healthcare system.

Project management benefits from a wide variety of viewpoints

Roman Prczewlofsky is from Berlin and works in project management as part of the IT marketing and sales team at Bayer. After completing his studies in economics, he worked for nine years at a consulting firm, after which he spent three years working freelance for an aid organization. During this time, he learned how to run projects in a whole host of areas. Learn more on the Bayer Career Blog.

The IT three: The doctoral candidate

Sebastian Dorok is in the final stages of his doctoral process. To put it very simply, it’s about the processing and analysis of extremely large data volumes such as those generated in scientific research. In his thesis, which he is completing at the university in Magdeburg, Sebastian Dorok is being supported by Bayer. Read on the Bayer Career Blog, what he appreciates about this cooperation.

The IT three: The manager

Karsten Tittmann has worked in IT at Bayer for many years, and regularly supervises doctoral and postdoctoral students in his function. In a triangle linking Sebastian Dorok, Horstfried Läpple and himself he coordinates everything from the company’s perspective. Read on the Bayer Career Blog, what makes cooperations of this kind important for Bayer and what he likes most in his job in the Bayer-IT.

The IT three: The advisor

Horstfried Läpple is a “BaySEN”. That means he is part of the Bayer Senior Experts Network: even after his retirement, he is supporting his former colleagues in Group-wide projects with his wealth of experience and expertise. He also advised Sebastian Dorok within the scope of BaySEN. Read on Bayer Career Blog, what it means for him, still being able to work for Bayer and what he likes to advise and pass to young people.

Wir sind IT – Sie auch?

Über 4.700 IT-Mitarbeiter in rund 68 Ländern mit vier großen, cross-funktionalen IT Hubs in Deutschland, USA, China und Singapur sind die sogenannten „Game Changer“ der Digitalen Transformation bei Bayer. Die IT ist die Basis all unserer Geschäfte und unsere IT-Mitarbeiter sind die Macher und Treiber der digitalen Innovation bei Bayer, über allen Divisionen und Funktionen hinweg.

zoom

Großartige Ideen mit Leben füllen

Aufgestellt als Operating Modell mit einem funktionalen IT-Leadership Team, einer starken IT Operations und einem beratenden IT Business Partnering für jede Division, jeden IT-Hub und jede Länder-IT, kann sich die Bayer IT auf die jeweils ganz spezifischen Kundenanforderungen konzentrieren.

Neben dem laufenden IT-Betrieb in 92 Ländern und 763 Standorten – mit rund 1,2 Billionen E-Mails im Jahr, über 75.000 Smartphones und Tablets und hyper-connected Mitarbeitern, 36 produktiven ERP-Systemen mit 137.000 Nutzern und rund 1.000 Transaktionen pro Tag, um nur ein paar Beispiele zu nennen – arbeitet unsere IT mit flexiblen, agilen Technologien an der Entwicklung neuartiger Produkte für Patienten, Ärzte, Landwirte oder Tiere. In Zahlen gesprochen sind das unter anderem rund 700 spezialisierte Anwendungen für unsere Forschung & Entwicklung und 300 digitale Projekte pro Jahr für unsere Divisionen Pharmaceuticals, Consumer Health, Crop Science und Animal Health.

Crowd-sourcing und Co-working gehören zum Alltag, denn unsere IT-Kollegen sind stark vernetzt nicht nur miteinander, sondern auch in vielen Innovations-Initiativen außerhalb von Bayer. Denn wir brauchen die besten Köpfe, damit wir die besten Ideen mit Leben füllen können.

Was unsere IT-Kollegen zu Helden macht? Sie sind digital unschlagbar und clever, sind ausdauernd hochkonzentriert und arbeiten mit einer großen Leidenschaft für die Aufgabe, Lösungen für ein besseres Leben von Menschen, Pflanzen und Tieren zu schaffen.

IT-Arbeitsbereiche im Fokus

Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning

Artificial Intelligence (AI) als Überbegriff und die unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen von Machine und Deep Learning (ML) stecken bei Bayer mittlerweile in den vielfältigsten Prozessen. Eine Herausforderung ist das produktive Nutzbarmachen der signifikanten Datenmengen, die uns zur Verfügung stehen. Von Informationen über Patienten, im Rahmen von Forschung und Entwicklung, bis in die operativen Bereiche wie Supply Chain oder Vertrieb verfügt Bayer über riesige Datenschätze, deren Wert wir mittels modernster Informationstechnologien heben wollen.

Die intelligente Auswertung von Krankengeschichten, Medikationen und Diagnosen können dazu beitragen, Patienten in Zukunft durch Individualmedizin besser zu helfen. Im Bereich Logistik ist es möglich, durch AI Versorgungsengpässe vorwegzunehmen, um die Lieferung wichtiger Schutzmittel an Farmer sicherstellen. Ebenso lässt sich der Schädlingsbefall durch AI genauer vorhersagen. Und auch unsere Arbeitsumgebung bei Bayer lässt sich durch die Automatisierung von Prozessen verbessern. Wie können wir beispielsweise die Interaktion zwischen Mensch und System mit dem Einsatz neuer kognitiver Technologien, wie Sprach- oder Bilderkennung, vereinfachen und optimieren? Hier wollen wir unseren Mitarbeitern die neuesten und effizientesten Technologien anbieten.

In unseren AI-Labs bündeln wir die Expertise zur künstlichen Intelligenz im Konzern. Wir unterstützen damit den Austausch unserer Geschäftsfelder, die hier konkrete Anwendungen für den speziellen Einsatz erproben und weiterentwickeln, im Austausch mit externen Experten stehen – und interne Trainings und Schulungen anbieten.

Ihr Einstieg

Bei Bayer haben Sie die Chance, sich mit sehr unterschiedlichen Business-Anforderungen auseinanderzusetzen. Ihre fundierte AI-Expertise wird ebenso gefordert, wie Ihre Flexibilität sich schnell in die verschiedenen Geschäftsfelder einzuarbeiten. Als AI- & ML-Experte/in können Sie sich – neben den AI-Labs und der IT – auch in den Bereichen Drug Discovery, Pharma, R&D Crop Science oder Engineering & Technology verwirklichen.

Sie sind der Mittler zwischen unseren Business-Kollegen und den neuesten technologischen Möglichkeiten. Leiten Sie z.B. ein Projekt mit Wissenschaftlern, die versuchen Tumore oder Zellbesonderheiten zu erkennen, bringen Sie idealerweise Hintergrundwissen in Naturwissenschaften / Biologie mit. Aber auch wenn es um fortgeschrittene Predictive Analytics Programme für den Finanzbereich geht oder darum, die Digitalisierung im Außendienst, Personalbereich oder Anlagenbau an unseren Produktionsstätten mit AI-Lösungen voranzutreiben – der Nutzer steht immer im Mittelpunkt und unsere Aufgabe ist es, die Brücke zwischen seinen Anforderungen und den Einsatz der künstlichen Intelligenz sinnvoll zu gestalten.

Artificial Intelligence bei Bayer – ein Praxisbeispiel

Digitale Assistenten stehen für interne betriebliche Prozesse noch in den Kinderschuhen. Wir evaluieren, wo sie unsere Mitarbeiter in ihrer täglichen Arbeit unterstützen könnten. Wie wäre es mit einem Assistenten, der Meetings begleitet, Räume bucht und nebenher die Notizen schreibt. Oder ein Assistent, der proaktiv auf Reisen unterstützt und Umbuchungen im Falle von Reisestörungen automatisch vornimmt? Für die Entwicklung passender Lösungen müssen wir verstehen, wie die Algorithmen von AI-Systemen funktionieren und wie wir sie sinnvoll in unsere Geschäftsprozesse einbinden können.

 

Data Science

In unserer digitalen Welt sind Daten der entscheidende Rohstoff für die Entwicklung neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Bei Bayer haben wir unglaublich viele dieser Daten und mit Data Science daher fantastische Möglichkeiten, Entscheidungen für unser Geschäft zu beeinflussen. Die Projekte reichen von Finanzanalysen, in denen wir Ausreißer oder Sonderfälle ermitteln, über Analysen biomedizinischer Daten für die Entwicklung neuer Patientenlösungen, Optimierungen von Product Supply bis hin zur Auswertung von Satellitenbildern für unser Digital-Farming-Geschäft. Für unsere Geschäftsbereiche benötigen wir schließlich die unterschiedlichsten Lösungen.

Bei Data Science sind wir echte „Geeks“. Es begeistert uns, die Welt mit statistischen und mathematischen Tools zu einem besseren und effizienteren Ort zu machen und Bayers in ein wirklich digitales Unternehmen zu verwandeln. Doch so sehr uns die Statistik auch fasziniert, in unseren Projekten stehen Patienten, Kunden und Anwender immer an erster Stelle.

Ihr Einstieg

Im Bereich Data Science haben Sie die Chance, komplexe analytische Probleme zu lösen und arbeiten eng mit den unterschiedlichsten Einheiten von Bayer zusammen. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Corporate Finance, Crop Science, die pharmazeutische Forschung oder Regulatory Affairs. So vielfältig sind Data Science Projekte sonst nur in Consulting-Unternehmen.

Sie starten als Teil eines jungen, dynamischen und interdisziplinären Teams von Datenwissenschaftlern, entwickeln und arbeiten mit innovativen analytischen Lösungen. Danach stehen Ihnen die Türen zu vielen verschiedenen attraktiven Position in allen Divisionen bei Bayer offen. Bei Data Science geht es darum, Dinge fertigzustellen und die Funktion zielt sehr darauf ab, messbare Mehrwerte zu schaffen. Deshalb können Sie davon ausgehen, sowohl herausgefordert als auch mit großartigen Karriereperspektiven über alle Bayer Divisionen hinweg belohnt zu werden.

Data Science bei Bayer – ein Praxisbeispiel

Waren zu produzieren und den Marktbedürfnissen effizient und ohne Verluste gerecht zu werden, ist eine extrem schwierige Aufgabe. Unser Data Science Team hat gerade gemeinsam mit einer Produktionsstätte an der Optimierung des Verpackungszeitplan gearbeitet. Innerhalb weniger Monate haben wir ein Simulationstool aufgesetzt. Damit können wir „Was-wäre-wenn“ Szenarios durchspielen, die eine effizientere Produktion ermöglichen und gleichzeitig mehrere Arbeitstage im Monat einsparen.

 

Enterprise Architecture

Wenn Sie in der IT von Bayer arbeiten wollen, werden Sie einschätzen können „wieviel“ wir davon haben. Unsere weltweite Informations- und Softwarearchitektur ist extrem komplex und bei Enterprise Architecture (EA) kümmern wir uns darum, dass sie sich mit der Digitalisierung unseres Life Science Geschäfts stets weiterentwickelt. Dazu gehört, dass wir die Innovationskraft unserer Fachbereiche durch neue Technologien, flexible und interaktive Systeme mit schlanken Prozessen auf die Straße bringen. Dabei bewahren wir den Überblick über die gesamte IT-Architektur bei Bayer und steuern die reibungslose, kontinuierliche und sichere Integration digitaler und konventioneller IT-Bereiche sowie das Retirement alter Anwendungen.

Unsere Arbeit beginnt mit der Übersetzung unserer Geschäftsstrategie auf die IT-Architektur und reicht über die entsprechende Ableitung und Entwicklung von Konzepten für unsere Geschäftsbereiche bis hin zur Umsetzung konkreter Lösungen. Neben dem dezentralen Ausrollen neuer Anwendungen gehört auch der Wechsel von Software-Releases in immer kürzeren Intervallen sowie das „Abschalten“ und „vom Netz nehmen“ alter Systeme zu unseren Aufgaben. Wir identifizieren und evaluieren neue technologische Trends und unterstützen mit unserer Architecture-Community in den Geschäftsfeldern durch Guidelines, Best Practices oder Schulungen im Umgang mit neuen IT-Anwendungen.

Ihr Einstieg

Aufgrund unserer Unternehmensgröße unterscheiden wir bei Bayer zwischen dem zentralen Enterprise Architecture Management, dem Domain Management für Bereiche wie Marketing & Sales und Research & Development sowie der Solution Architecture. Da die drei Ebenen von EA ganz unterschiedliche Skills und Erfahrungen erfordern, bieten sich interessante Einstiegs- und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten sowohl für Absolventen als auch für berufserfahrene Spezialisten/innen.

Steigen Sie mit einigen Jahren Berufserfahrung beispielsweise im Domain Management für Marketing & Sales oder Research & Development ein. Hier bilden Sie die Brücke zwischen dem Team des übergreifenden Enterprise Architecture Managements, das die ganzheitliche Strategie verantwortet und den Solution Architekten, die sich mit dem Wie und Womit zur taktischen Lösung geschäftlicher IT-Anforderungen beschäftigen und diese umsetzen. Da wir übergreifend sehr eng zusammenarbeiten, brauchen wir hier vor allem echte Teamplayer mit hohen analytischen Fähigkeiten, die komplexe Zusammenhänge kommunikativ aufarbeiten und abstrakte Vorgaben in konkrete Aufgaben verwandeln können.

Enterprise Architecture bei Bayer – ein Praxisbeispiel

Im Domain Management für Marketing & Sales sind neue, technische Dialogformen mit unseren Kunden, wie Apotheken und Ärzten oder Landwirten gefragt. Wir schauen uns nach neuen, innovativen Lösungen um und machen den Divisionen konkrete Vorschläge. Hier ist es essentiell, dass wir die geschäftlichen Anforderungen genau verstehen und ganz eng mit dem Business und den Solution Architects zusammenarbeiten, um beispielsweise die Fragen zu beantworten: Was ist in welchem Zeitrahmen mit welchem Aufwand möglich? Was existiert möglicherweise bereits bei Bayer und lässt sich anpassen oder ergänzen?

 

Integration & Cloud Computing

Klinische Studien mit Hilfe von Artificial Intelligence beschleunigen, dank des Internet of Things (IoT) bessere Ernten mit weniger Pflanzenschutz einfahren, hochkomplexe Produktionsanlagen sicherer und effizienter warten durch Augmented Reality. Die Zukunft unseres Life Science Geschäftes liegt in der Nutzung und Weiterentwicklung neuer digitaler Lösungen für ein besseres Leben auf der Erde. Unsere Aufgabe im Bereich Digital Foundation & Integration besteht darin, diese meist cloudbasierten Services für den Konzern weltweit verfügbar zu machen.

Im Prinzip geht es darum, sehr gut zuzuhören, die Anforderungen unsere Kunden aus den Bereichen Pharma und Pflanzenschutz zu verstehen und dann spezifische IT-Lösungen zu designen. Dabei setzen wir auf agile Arbeitsmethoden wie Scrum, bauen cross-funktional besetzte Teams und entwickeln gemeinsam Arbeitspakete. Zu unseren täglichen Aufgaben gehört es beispielsweise, Benutzeroberflächen für eine positive User Experience zu kreieren, Datenmodelle zu schreiben, sichere Anbindungen an Cloud-Dienste zu schaffen, analytische Dienste zu ergänzen oder eigene Daten durch Big Data anzureichern, um so die Präzision von Aussagen zu erhöhen.

Ihr Einstieg

Sie arbeiten projektspezifisch mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen sowohl aus der IT als auch aus dem Business zusammen. Diese enge Verzahnung ist besonders interessant für den Einstieg bei Bayer. Aufgrund unserer interdisziplinären Projekte schätzen wir eher breit angelegte Skill-Profile, wie Mathematiker, Ingenieure, Naturwissenschaftler und Techniker mit fundiertem oder spezifischen IT-Knowhow. Gerne auch IT-ler mit Hintergründen aus R&D, Marketing oder Engineering. Fundierte Kenntnisse in der IT-Infrastruktur, wie Active Directory, Firewalls, Proxy, Gateway oder neuen Technologien wie Container- und API-Management sind von Vorteil. Die Stärkung einer breit angelegten Expertise unterstützt Bayer auch bei der persönlichen Weiterentwicklung.

Typische Profile in diesem Bereich sind der Cloud Service Manager, Cloud Architect, IT Project Manager oder Application Manager. Als Berufseinsteiger wirken Sie zunächst in Projekten mit erfahrenen Kolleginnen und Kollegen mit. Dank Ihrer crossfunktionalen Kompetenzen steht es Ihnen dann offen, selbst eigene und größere Projekte zu leiten, aus einem R&D IT Projekt in die R&D der Pharma oder Crop Science zu wechseln - oder auch in andere Funktionen im Konzern.

Integration & Cloud Computing bei Bayer – ein Praxisbeispiel

Wir beobachten Pflanzen durch verschiedene Kameras, ausgestattet mit diversen optischen Sensoren (z.B. Infrarot, UV), und versehen sie mit Kontrastmitteln, um die Pflanzenbeschaffenheit besonders hervorzuheben. So können wir zeitaufgelöst und präzise aufzeichnen, wie das Wachstum der Pflanzen verläuft und durch welche Faktoren es beeinflusst wird. Aufbauend darauf lassen wir uns für die Auswertung Optimierungsansätze einfallen, erarbeiten daraus Optimierungsverfahren und automatisieren diese dann durch den Einsatz modernster Cloudtechnologien.

 

IT Security

Unsere Leidenschaft bei Bayer sind Innovationen. Diese Innovationen müssen wir schützen - vor Verlust, Störungen oder Cyberkriminalität. Security ist deshalb eine unserer Schlüsselfunktionen in der IT, wo vielfältige Herausforderungen auf Sie warten: Neue Wirkstoffe für Medikamente oder den Pflanzenschutz werden zunehmend über modellbasierte Lösungen in der Cloud entwickelt. Die gemeinsame Forschung mit anderen Unternehmen in Hybrid Cloud Partner Networks stellt besondere Anforderungen an die IT Sicherheit. Mitarbeiter erwarten einen nahtlosen Datenaustausch, ganz gleich von wo aus sie arbeiten. All das erfordert sichere und praktikable Lösungen.

In der IT Security arbeiten Sie daher eng mit den Experten aus Research & Development, Product Supply und Marketing & Sales aus unseren Geschäftsbereichen Pharma, Consumer Health und Crop Science zusammen. Gleichzeitig treiben wir mit unseren Anforderungen die Entwicklungen der Technologieführer voran.

Ihr Einstieg

Die meisten unserer IT Security Experten beginnen ihre Karriere in einem unserer Entwicklungsteams, in denen wir unsere Lösung umsetzen. Dabei lernen Sie unser Geschäft in verschiedenen divisions- und funktionsübergreifenden Projekten in einem internationalen Umfeld kennen.

Danach stehen Ihnen eine Vielzahl von Arbeitsgebieten offen: Werden Sie zum Beispiel ausgewiesener Experte für ein oder mehrere Themen der IT Security, wie beispielweise Software defined Infrastructure, Cyber Security oder Security by Design. Übernehmen Sie die Verantwortung für ganze IT-Architekturbereiche oder die Teamleitung von anspruchsvollen, internationalen IT Security Projekten.

IT Security bei Bayer – ein Praxisbeispiel

Migräne-Kopfschmerzen setzen Betroffene häufig für Stunden außer Gefecht. Um den Verlauf einer solchen Schmerzattacke positiv zu beeinflussen, ist es besonders wichtig, das Migränemedikament rechtzeitig einzunehmen. Bayer Pharma hat deshalb gemeinsam mit den Kollegen aus der IT eine Lösung entwickelt, bei der Betroffene über Stresshormone erkennen können, ob sich eine Migräne anbahnt. Dazu übertragen auf der Haut platzierte Sensoren Signale an das Smartphone des Patienten. Im Anschluss erhält er einen Hinweis, ob die Einnahme eines Medikaments sinnvoll ist. Durch die frühzeitige Medikamentengabe lassen sich Dauer und Schmerzen für die Betroffenen deutlich senken.

 

Erfahrungsberichte

Sei mit Bayer Teil der Zukunft!

Als Digital Health Innovation Manager ist Ulf Hengstmann Schnittstelle zwischen IT- sowie der Pharma und CropScience Forschungs- und Entwicklungswelt. In seinem Blogbeitrag erzählt er seine ganz persönliche, äußerst spannende Karriere-Geschichte und welche Vorteile die digitale Transformation für unser Gesundheitswesen bringen kann.

Projektmanagement profitiert von möglichst vielen Perspektiven

Roman Prczewlofsky kommt aus Berlin und arbeitet im Projektmanagement der Marketing und Sales IT. Nach seinem Studium hat er in einer Unternehmensberatung und selbständig für eine Hilfsorganisation gearbeitet. In dieser Zeit hat er gelernt, Projekte in einer Vielzahl von Themen zu bearbeiten. Erfahre mehr auf dem Bayer Karriere Blog.

IT-Triangel: Der Doktorand

Sebastian Dorok steckt in den Endzügen seiner Promotion, wo es um die Verarbeitung und Analyse extrem großer Datenmengen geht. Wie er die Zusammenarbeit mit Bayer unterstützt. Wie er diese Zusammenarbeit erlebt, schildert er auf dem  Bayer Karriere Blog.

IT-Triangel: Der Manager

Karsten Tittmann arbeitet seit vielen Jahren in der Bayer-IT und betreut in seiner Funktion regelmäßig Doktoranden und PostDocs. In dem Triangel mit Sebastian Dorok und Horstfried Läpple hält er auf der Bayer-Seite die Fäden zusammen. Warum Kooperationen dieser Art wichtig für Bayer sind und was er an seiner Arbeit in der Bayer-IT besonders schätzt, erläutert er auf dem  Bayer Karriere Blog.

IT-Triangel: Der Berater

Horstfried Läpple ist ein „BaySEN“. Das heißt, er gehört zum Bayer Senior Experts Network und unterstützt, auch nach seiner Pensionierung, ehemalige Kolleginnen und Kollegen in konzernweiten Projekten durch seinen Erfahrungsschatz und sein Fachwissen. Im Rahmen von BaySEN hat er auch Sebastian Dorok beraten. Was es heute für ihn bedeutet, weiterhin für Bayer tätig zu sein und was er jungen Menschen gerne weitergeben möchte, verrät er auf dem  Bayer Karriere Blog.