A broad spectrum of expertise

Bayer Business Consulting is involved in a wide range of projects across the Bayer Group and develops strategies and solutions for almost all organizational units. Our working atmosphere is geared toward sustainable and long-term collaboration. Our approach is very similar to that of external consultants. The main difference is that we have a deeper insight into the structure and methods of the Bayer Group. We also have an especially close and trustful relationship with our customers in the Bayer Group, and are closely involved in the sustainable realization of programs and strategies. Sometimes we compete with external consultancies, and sometimes we work on projects in collaboration with them. In such cases, each partner plays a different role, contributing specific expertise to ensure the success of the project.

Our areas of expertise

Our team combines expertise in all consulting areas with the advantage of a deep inside knowledge of the Bayer Group. Covering the entire value chain we provide tailored solutions to the specific needs of our clients. Our customized support enables executives throughout the Bayer world to successfully meet present needs and anticipate future challenges. We help to secure Bayer’s long-term competitiveness.

Research & Development (R&D)

This covers the development of strategies and optimization of processes for development, portfolio, and resource management, while seeking out opportunities for digital innovation, and thus determines how to strengthen Bayer through coordinated efforts in the areas of Research & Development, flexibility and growth.The team shows leadership through strategy and governance process development, portfolio and resource management, and promote innovation through digital opportunities (information research, customer centricity, business model innovation). Other aspects are driving flexibility and growth through alliances and collaborations in Research & Development and efficiency through process re-engineering, organizational design and performance improvement. Further tasks are:

  • Development of R&D strategies to increase competitiveness or to enter novel areas
  • Analysis of processes and identification of improvement potential
  • Implementation of strategies and adapted processes
  • Development and implementation of external and open innovation concepts
  • Analysis of outsourcing potential across R&D functions
  • Development of logics for prioritizing portfolios across indications and technologies
  • Projection of resource and budget needs across functions based on current and expected future portfolios

Manufacturing (MFG)

The main tasks are the development of industrial operations strategy and manufacturing footprint design. Manufacturing supports Bayer and the divisions in achieving their industrial operations objectives and focuses on product manufacturing strategy, structure, and systems. It develops tailor-made, actionable solutions in line with divisions' Product Supply strategies. Further tasks are:

  • Manufacturing Strategy and Organizational Development
  • Investment Management
  • Site Optimization

Supply Chain Management (SCM)

Key tasks within SCM are the development and /or optimization of efficient and reliable supply of required goods (“Source”), development and /or optimization of efficient and customer-oriented distribution processes (“Deliver”) and development and /or optimization of smooth cash flow processes across functional boundaries (“Value”). Further tasks are:

  • Shaping Bayer’s divisional supply chain strategies
  • Growing procurement excellence
  • Implementing state-of-the-art S&OP processes across geographies and functions
  • Optimizing Bayer’s manufacturing network
  • Improving supply chain performance by increasing end-to-end visibility

Marketing & Sales (M&S)

The main tasks of Marketing & Sales are providing support with market research and the development, optimization, and implementation of marketing-and-sales and go-to-market strategies. Further tasks are:

  • Market research / consumer insights, segmentation and portfolio analysis (“Understand value”)
  • Development of Marketing & Sales strategies (“Define value”)
  • Optimization, implementation and activation of go-to-market approaches (“Deliver value”)
  • Measuring, steering and improving Marketing & Sales performance (“Monitor value”)

Business Transformation & Change (BT&C)

The Business Transformation & Change group controls transformation processes from the performance and employee perspective, and assesses and improves processes, organizations, and governance structures. In addition, this unit develops and implements change concepts and assists with post-merger integration. Further tasks are:

  • Management of transformations from a strategy, performance and people perspective
  • Development of functional strategies
  • Evaluation and optimization of processes, organizations and governance structures
  • Development and implementation of change managementconcepts
  • Management of separations and integrations

 

The comprehensive experience the consultants acquire in these projects makes them sought-after talents within the Bayer Group, which is why some 30 to 35 consultants transfer from Business Consulting to other roles within the company every year.

Unsere Expertise: fundiert und vielseitig

Bayer Business Consulting ist unternehmensweit an vielen unterschiedlichen Projekten beteiligt und entwickelt Strategien und Lösungen für fast alle Organisationseinheiten. Unsere Arbeitsatmosphäre ist auf eine nachhaltige und langfristige Zusammenarbeit ausgelegt und unser Ansatz ist dem externer Beratungsfirmen sehr ähnlich. Worin wir uns unterscheiden ist, dass wir über tiefere Einblicke in die Strukturen und Methoden des Bayer-Konzerns verfügen. Außerdem pflegen wir sehr enge und vertraute Beziehungen mit unseren Kunden aus dem Bayer-Konzern und sind eng in die nachhaltige Umsetzung von Programmen und Strategien eingebunden. Manchmal stehen wir mit externen Beratungsfirmen in Konkurrenz, manchmal arbeiten wir mit ihnen zusammen. Je nach Situation übernehmen die Beteiligten unterschiedliche Rollen und tragen jeweils mit der eigenen Fachkompetenz zum Projekterfolg bei.

Unsere Beratungsfelder

In unserem Team trifft Kompetenz aus allen Beratungsbereichen auf den einzigartigen Vorteil einer fundierten Kenntnis des Bayer-Konzerns. Mit unseren maßgeschneiderten Lösungen für die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden decken wir die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette ab. Dank unserer individuell angepassten Business-Unterstützung gelingt es dem Management in aller Welt bei Bayer nicht nur aktuellen Bedürfnissen gerecht zu werden, sondern auch sich auf zukünftige Herausforderungen einzustellen. Damit leisten wir unseren Beitrag zur langfristigen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Bayer.

Research & Development (R&D)

R&D entwickelt Strategien und optimiert Prozesse im Entwicklungs-, Portfolio- und Ressourcenmanagement. Gleichzeitig werden hier Möglichkeiten für digitale Innovationen erarbeitet, um herauszufinden, wie sich Bayer durch koordinierten Einsatz in den Bereichen Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Flexibilität und Wachstum stärken lässt. Die Führungsfähigkeit wird in diesem Bereich bewiesen durch: die Entwicklung von Strategie- und Governance-Prozessen, das Portfolio- und Ressourcenmanagement sowie die Innovationsförderung mithilfe von Digitaltechnologien (Informationsgewinnung, Kundenzentriertheit, Innovation des Geschäftsmodells). Flexibilität und Wachstum auf der Grundlage von Allianzen und Kooperationen in der Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Effizienz durch Prozessneugestaltung, Organisationsdesign und Leistungsverbesserung gehören ebenfalls in diesen Bereich. Weitere Aufgaben sind:

  • Entwicklung von R&D-Strategien zur Steigerung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Erschließung neuer Tätigkeitsfelder
  • Prozessanalyse und Identifizierung von Verbesserungspotenzial
  • Umsetzung von Strategien und Prozessanpassungen
  • Entwicklung und Umsetzung von externen und offenen Innovationskonzepten
  • Analyse des Outsourcing-Potenzials in den verschiedenen R&D-Funktionen
  • Indikations- und technologieübergreifende Entwicklung von Logiken für die Priorisierung von Portfolios
  • Funktionsübergreifende Prognosen für Ressourcen- und Budgetbedarfe anhand aktueller und zu erwartender zukünftiger Portfolios

Manufacturing (Herstellung)

Zu den Hauptaufgaben gehören die Entwicklung von Strategien für den industriellen Betrieb und die Ausgestaltung der Fertigungskapazitäten. Manufacturing unterstützt Bayer und seine Divisionen beim Erreichen ihrer industriellen operativen Ziele und konzentriert sich auf die Strategien, Strukturen und Systeme der Produktherstellung. In diesem Bereich werden maßgeschneiderte, umsetzbare Lösungen entwickelt, die sich in die Produktlieferstrategien der einzelnen Divisionen eingliedern. Weitere Aufgaben sind:

  • Herstellungsstrategie und Organisationsentwicklung
  • Investment-Management
  • Standortoptimierung

Supply Chain Management (SCM)

Schlüsselaufgaben bei SCM sind die Entwicklung bzw. Optimierung der effizienten und zuverlässigen Bereitstellung benötigter Güter und Waren („Bezug“), die Entwicklung bzw. Optimierung effizienter und kundenorientierter Vertriebsprozesse („Lieferung“) sowie die Entwicklung bzw. Optimierung reibungsloser funktionsübergreifender Cashflow-Prozesse („Wertschöpfung“). Weitere Aufgaben sind:

  • Gestaltung der Lieferkettenstrategien einzelner Divisionen bei Bayer
  • Ausbau der Beschaffungsexzellenz
  • Implementierung moderner, standort- und funktionsübergreifender S&OP-Prozesse
  • Optimierung des Herstellungsnetzwerks von Bayer
  • Steigerung der Lieferkettenleistung durch eine verbesserte End-to-End-Sichtbarkeit

Marketing & Sales (M&S)

Die Hauptaufgaben von Marketing & Sales bestehen einerseits in der Unterstützung der Marktforschung sowie in der Entwicklung, Optimierung und Umsetzung von Strategien für Marketing und Vertrieb und andererseits von Go-to-Market-Strategien. Weitere Aufgaben sind:

  • Marktforschung / Erkenntnisse von Verbrauchern, Segmentierung und Portfolio-Analyse („Wertschöpfung verstehen“)
  • Entwicklung von Marketing- und Vertriebsstrategien („Wertschöpfung definieren“)
  • Optimierung, Umsetzung und Aktivierung von Go-to-Market-Strategien („Wertschöpfung liefern“)
  • Kontrolle, Steuerung und Verbesserung der Performance von Marketing & Sales („Wertschöpfung überwachen“)

Business Transformation & Change (BT&C)

Business Transformation & Change (Unternehmensumwandlung & -veränderung) steuert Transformationsprozesse aus Leistungs- und Mitarbeiterperspektive. Außerdem bewertet und verbessert sie Prozesse, Organisationen und Governance-Strukturen, sie entwickelt Veränderungskonzepte, setzt diese um und unterstützt bei der Integration nach Unternehmensfusionen. Weitere Aufgaben sind:

  • Management von Transformationen aus der Strategie-, Leistungs- und Personalperspektive
  • Entwicklung funktionaler Strategien
  • Evaluierung und Optimierung von Prozessen, Organisationen und Governance-Strukturen
  • Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Change-Management-Konzepten
  • Gestaltung von Trennungen und Integrationen

 

Die umfassenden Erfahrungen, die Consultants bei diesen Projekten erwerben, machen sie zu sehr gefragten Fachleuten innerhalb des Bayer-Konzerns, weshalb jedes Jahr 30 bis 35 Consultants von Business Consulting in andere Bereiche wechseln.