Postdoc program in pharmaceutical research

Bayer is a global enterprise with core competencies in the life science fields of health care and agriculture. As an innovation company, it sets trends in research-intensive areas. Our products and services are designed to benefit people and improve their quality of life. Bayer values the passion its employees have for innovations and gives them the strength to make changes. You, too, can bring your passion for research to the company and benefit from our outstanding postdoctoral program.

 

The Postdoc Program of the Pharmaceuticals Division’s Drug Discovery unit is aimed at exceptional, innovative young scientists who are about to obtain their doctorates or have recently done so at a top-class institution. Given the interdisciplinary approach in drug discovery, there are options for a whole host of specialties (chemistry, biochemistry, biology, human/veterinary medicine, IT, etc.). Ideally, you will already have published a number of articles in influential science journals detailing impressive research results and will be at home in an English-speaking research environment.

Drug Discovery at Bayer Pharma

The Drug Discovery unit in Bayer’s Pharmaceuticals Division provides the ideas, target structures and molecules that go on to produce new drugs for the future treatment of patients in the course of (pre)clinical development. Our research and development activities focus on diseases with a high level of unmet medical need, including cardiovascular, pulmonary and renal diseases, gynecological disorders, eye diseases, blood disorders and malignant tumors. Interdisciplinary, innovative teams from areas such as pharmacology, medicinal chemistry and preclinical/early clinical development at numerous international sites working with external cooperation partners are the driving force behind research and development activities for new drugs. A total of around 1,000 scientists at the major research sites in Berlin, Wuppertal and Monheim are working on developing drugs to improve patients’ lives.

What the Postdoc Program offers you

The postdoctoral program is designed to last two years, with an optional extension of a further year. It offers you an exceptional opportunity to experience research or early clinical development at a world-leading pharmaceutical company. You will obtain detailed insights into Bayer’s industrial, scientific research work and will benefit from cooperative dialog with other members of the research team in your unit.

 

Positions within the Postdoc Program are available in oncology, cardiovascular and renal research, gynecology, ophthalmology and medicinal chemistry. Program components include:

 

  • Supervision by a mentor who will facilitate your initial steps in pharmaceutical research
  • Carrying out an independent research project in an industrial environment
  • Excellent teamwork with instruction of lab technicians and students
  • Participation in congresses and scientific networks
  • Publication of innovative research results
  • Training modules in e.g. project management

 

Your tasks during the postdoctoral program in pharmaceutical research and development may include:

 

  • Evaluating pathomechanisms and identifying new kinds of target molecules as a starting point for new drug development programs
  • Introducing and characterizing new preclinical in-vitro and in-vivo model systems
  • Characterizing mechanisms of action for innovative chemical compounds
  • Scientific planning, evaluation, interpretation and presentation of experimental studies
  • Forming part of interdisciplinary and cross-functional project groups and working with academic partners

 

The start date of your Postdoc Program will be agreed individually with you. Options are available at various sites. The insights and experience you obtain during the program will give you the best possible career prospects going forward. Naturally, you will receive a competitive salary along with many of the options and benefits that make working at Bayer so attractive and enjoyable.

What comes after the Postdoc Program?

Once you have completed the postdoctoral program, you will have excellent and varied career opportunities at industrial research companies in Germany and other countries. You will also still have the option of returning to the academic world.

What do participants say? Here they share their personal experience

 

Léo Marx - about the Postdoc program

 

Léo, originally from Strasbourg in France, is one of the graduates of Bayer’s Postdoc program. Driven by a desire to gain practical experience in pharmaceutical research in industry he found a place in Medicinal Chemistry at our research site in Wuppertal, Germany.

 

 

 

 

Postdoc in the Bayer – DKFZ Joint Lab

 

Rafael decided to do his postdoc as scientific manager at the Bayer – DKFZ (Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum) Joint Lab in Cancer Immunotherapy. Read in his contribution to the Bayer Career Blog about his experiences developing new therapies that help the immune system to fight cancer and what he likes about working at Bayer.

Current vacancies and application process

If you are interested in obtaining a place on Drug Discovery’s Postdoc Program, then search for open positions in the Job Search and apply for the job posting of your choice. Please write your application in English and indicate on your covering letter when you would be available to start. We look forward to receiving your application!

 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates

3/23/17 - 3/25/17

Postdoc WS Cardiovascular

3/31/17

INTERPHARM

4/3/17 - 4/4/17

European Conferences on Pharmaceutics

All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Nov 29, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/entrylevel/postdocs/postdoc-program-drug-discovery/

Das Postdoc-Programm in der Pharmaforschung

Bayer ist ein weltweit tätiges Unternehmen mit Kernkompetenzen auf den Life-Science-Gebieten Gesundheit und Agrarwirtschaft. Als Innovations-Unternehmen setzt Bayer Zeichen in forschungsintensiven Bereichen. Mit unseren Produkten und Dienstleistungen wollen wir den Menschen nützen und zur Verbesserung der Lebensqualität beitragen. Bayer schätzt die Leidenschaft seiner Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter für Innovationen und gibt ihnen die Kraft, Dinge zu verändern. Bringen auch Sie Ihre Leidenschaft für die Forschung bei uns ein und profitieren Sie von den herausragenden Bedingungen unseres Postdoc-Programms.

 

Das PostDoc-Programm im Bereich Drug Discovery der Division Pharmaceuticals richtet sich an herausragende, innovative Nachwuchswissenschaftler, die unmittelbar vor dem Abschluss ihrer Promotion stehen oder diese gerade an einem erstklassigen Institut absolviert haben. In Anbetracht des interdisziplinären Ansatzes in der Arzneimittelforschung gibt es Optionen für eine Vielzahl an Fachrichtungen (Chemie, Biochemie, Biologie, Medizin- und Veterinärmedizin, Informatik etc.). Idealerweise haben Sie bereits eine Reihe von Publikationen in einflussreichen Wissenschaftsmagazinen zu Ihren herausragenden Forschungsergebnissen vorzuweisen und bewegen sich sicher im englischsprachigen Forschungsumfeld. 

Drug Discovery bei Bayer Pharma

Drug Discovery der Division Pharmaceuticals von Bayer liefert die Ideen, Zielstrukturen und Moleküle, aus denen im Laufe der (prä-)klinischen Entwicklung neue Medikamente für die zukünftige Behandlung von Patienten werden. Erkrankungen mit hohem medizinischem Bedarf stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt unserer Forschung und Entwicklung. Hierzu zählen u.a. Herzkreislauf-, Lungen- und Nierenerkrankungen, gynäkologische Krankheiten, Augen- und Bluterkrankungen sowie bösartige Tumore. Treibende Kraft für die Erforschung und Entwicklung neuer Medikamente sind interdisziplinäre, innovative Teams aus u.a. Pharmakologie, Medizinalchemie, präklinischer und früher klinischer Entwicklung an zahlreichen, internationalen Standorten in Zusammenarbeit mit externen Kooperationspartnern. Insgesamt arbeiten an den großen Forschungsstandorten Berlin, Wuppertal und Monheim ca. 1.000 Wissenschaftler an der Entwicklung von Medikamenten, um das Leben von Patienten besser zu machen.

Was Ihnen das Postdoc-Programm bietet

Das Postdoc-Programm ist ausgelegt auf eine Dauer von zwei Jahren mit Verlängerungsoption um ein weiteres Jahr. Es bietet Ihnen eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, Forschung oder frühe klinische Entwicklung in einem weltweit führenden Pharmaunternehmen kennenzulernen. Dabei erhalten Sie ausführliche Einblicke in die industrielle, naturwissenschaftliche Forschungsarbeit bei Bayer und profitieren vom kollegialen Austausch innerhalb des Forschungsteams Ihres Bereiches.

 

Das Postdoc-Programm bieten wir in der Onkologie, der Herz-Kreislauf- und Nierenforschung, der Gynäkologie, Augenheilkunde und der medizinischen Chemie an. Bestandteile des Programms sind unter anderem:

 

  • Begleitung durch einen Mentor, der Ihnen den Einstieg in die Pharma-Forschung erleichtert
  • Durchführung eines unabhängigen Forschungsvorhabens in industrieller Umgebung
  • Kollegiale Zusammenarbeit und Anleitung von Laboranten und Studenten
  • Partizipation an Kongressen und wissenschaftlichen Netzwerken
  • Publikation von innovativen Forschungsergebnissen
  • Trainingsmodule in z.B. Projektmanagement

 

Ihre Aufgaben als Postdoc in der pharmazeutischen Forschung und Entwicklung können unter anderem sein:

 

  • Evaluation von Pathomechanismen und Identifikation neuartiger Zielmoleküle als Startpunkt für neue Medikamentenentwicklungsprogramme
  • Einführung und Charakterisierung neuer präklinischer In-Vitro- und In-Vivo-Modellsysteme
  • Charakterisierung von Wirkmechanismen innovativer chemischer Verbindungen
  • Wissenschaftliche Planung, Auswertung, Interpretation und Präsentation experimenteller Studien
  • Mitarbeit in interdisziplinären und funktionsübergreifenden Projektgruppen und Zusammenarbeit mit akademischen Partnern

 

Der Starttermin für Ihr Postdoc-Programm wird individuell mit Ihnen vereinbart. Einsatzoptionen an verschiedenen Standorten sind möglich. Im Rahmen des Postdoc-Programms sammeln Sie Einblicke und Erfahrungen, mit denen Sie beste Berufsaussichten nach dem Programm haben. Ein wettbewerbsfähiges Gehalt ist dabei genauso selbstverständlich, wie die Möglichkeit, viele der Angebote und Benefits nutzen zu können, die das Arbeiten bei Bayer angenehm und attraktiv machen.

Was kommt nach dem PostDoc?

Nach dem Abschluss des Postdoc-Programms haben Sie sehr gute und vielfältige Karrierechancen in industriellen Forschungsunternehmen im In- und Ausland. Aber auch der Weg ins akademische Umfeld steht Ihnen weiterhin offen.

Was sagen Teilnehmer zu dem Programm?

 

Léo Marx über das Postdoc-Programm

 

Léo aus dem französischen Straßburg, ist einer der Absolventen des Bayer Postdoc-Programmes. Auf der Suche nach Praxiserfahrung in der Pharmaforschung, hat er sein Postdoc im Bayer-Forschungszentrum in Wuppertal absolviert. Im Video-Portrait schildert Léo seine Erfahrungen als Postdoc bei Bayer.

 

 

Postdoc im Bayer DKFZ Joint Lab

 

Rafael hat sich entschieden, seinen Postdoc als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Bayer DKFZ (Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum) Joint Lab für Krebsimmuntherapie zu absolvieren. Lesen sie in seinem Beitrag auf dem Bayer Karriereblog welche Erfahrungen er bisher gemacht hat, neue Therapien zu entwickeln, die das Immunsystem unterstützen, Krebs zu bekämpfen und warum er gerne bei Bayer arbeitet.

Aktuelle Stellenangebote und Bewerbung

Wenn wir Ihr Interesse an einem Platz in unserem Postdoc-Programm bei Drug Discovery geweckt haben, suchen Sie bitte nach ausgeschriebenen Positionen in der Job-Suche und bewerben Sie sich auf die Stellenausschreibung Ihrer Wahl. Verfassen Sie Ihre Bewerbung bitte auf Englisch und geben Sie bitte in Ihrem Anschreiben Ihr mögliches Eintrittsdatum an. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung!

 

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

26.09.17

Ausbildungsbasar Berufskolleg Bergisch Land

27.09.17 - 28.09.17

Vocatium Köln

27.09.17

Ausbildungsexpo

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 29.11.2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/entrylevel/postdocs/postdoc-program-drug-discovery/