Work-Life-Balance

These days, many employees are looking for an employer to help them reconcile their professional and personal priorities, enabling them to create a healthy work-life balance. Bayer offers opportunities for working remotely or with flexible hours, allowing employees to pick up their children, or finish early to attend an exercise class, for example. This flexibility also allows employees to save up their time off in lieu in advance, so that they can take that long-awaited dream trip.

Flexible Working Hours

Personalized Options

Here at Bayer, our working time systems and models are as varied as our work. Flextime is available to the vast majority of our employees, apart from shift workers. Our range of part-time models also gives employees the option to customize their working hours to meet their own requirements. This model was established in the General Works Agreement on “Part-time employment” in 1988.
Mobile Working

At Home and on the Move

Here at Bayer, we promote working schedules that allow employees to harmonize their professional and personal needs. In Germany, a consistent framework for this was established in 2015 as part of a General Works Agreement. Two options are available: “Telecommuting” means working at a permanent home office on a regular or scheduled basis from home. “Mobile working” means working from home or at a different location only occasionally and on a short-term basis.
BayZeit

Flexible Working Life

With the “BayZeit” long-term account, all permanent employees are offered the attractive option to accumulate time credits alongside their salary as part of their gross compensation. This can then be used to finance a period of leave. This gives them the freedom to care for relatives, engage in further training, or take an extended period of parental leave. It also offers the possibility of a phased transition to retirement.
Workload Reduction for Older Employees

Additional Annual Leave

As the retirement age increases, most people will have to continue working for longer. Here at Bayer, we have developed a program designed to reduce the associated pressures, by increasing the amount of annual leave for employees aged 57 and over by up to 30 additional days.
BaySEN

Staying Active after Retirement

Our employees’ knowledge, skills and experience are vital to Bayer’s success. This expertise doesn’t end when employees retire. Through the „Bayer Senior Experts Network (BaySEN)“ we have made it possible for former employees to work for us on a temporary basis, enabling them to share their expertise.
Time for Your Loved-Ones

Responsibility for the Family

Even if you are committed to your job and love your work, sometimes family comes first. This is particularly true when children or relatives need special care or attention. Here at Bayer, we not only accept this responsibility, we also actively support it.
Parental Leave

Taking Time off for the Little Ones

Children achieve the biggest milestones in their development during their first few months and years. It is only natural that parents should want to experience as much of this as possible. Mothers can take advantage of parental leave once their maternity leave comes to an end. Fathers can benefit from parental leave as soon as their child is born. As an employer, we can offer our employees an individual package of information and advice to support them in this important time.
Reliable Childcare

Daycare Places

Expert, caring childcare, long opening hours and close to work – parents are much more relaxed at work if they know that their children are being well looked after. We therefore provide around 450 daycare places at our facilities in Leverkusen, Monheim, Dormagen, Wuppertal, Bergkamen, Frankfurt and Berlin, as part of our family-friendly approach.
Associations & Financial Contributions

Vacation Care

School vacations often mean a lot of juggling for working parents who don’t have family to rely upon. One way to handle this is to take advantage of our vacation care service, available to Bayer employee’s children between six and fourteen years old, which is provided by Bayer associations in Leverkusen, Dormagen, Krefeld-Uerdingen and Wuppertal-Elberfeld. In addition, we make a financial contribution toward the cost of vacation care for our employees’ children. This is also available to commuters who prefer to use a different childcare provider closer to home.
Working & Taking Care of Children

Parent-Child Offices

Even when working parents have organized reliable childcare, they may face times when their usual caregiver is unavailable, and they can’t find a short-term alternative. Here at Bayer, we have set up parent-child offices at some of our facilities in Germany to help parents faced with this situation. The offices are available at short notice and with a minimum of red tape.
Comprehensive Support

Advisory Services for Parents

We cooperate with two experienced service providers to offer our employees free expert advice on all aspects of childcare. In particular, these services include researching suitable private, public or independent facilities, as well as arranging childcare at home, daycare, au-pairs, babysitters, residential places, schools, homework or private tutors.
General Conditions & Provisions

Caring for Close Relatives

It can be a major challenge to combine working and caring for a relative. We therefore want to offer as much support as possible to any employees in this situation. In Germany, we set out our commitment in the General Works Agreement “Caring for close relatives”. This includes the option to take a period of leave or reduce your working hours, as well as free, confidential advice from an experienced specialist provider.

Work-Life-Balance

Heutzutage wünschen sich viele Arbeitnehmer einen Arbeitgeber, der ihnen hilft, berufliche und private Prioritäten miteinander zu vereinbaren und so eine ausgewogene Work-Life-Balance zu schaffen. Durch mobiles Arbeiten oder flexible Arbeitszeiten ermöglicht Bayer, dass Sie Ihre Kinder abholen oder wegen eines Sportkurses früher Schluss machen können. Die Flexibilität gibt Ihnen auch die Möglichkeit, für Ihre lang ersehnte Reise einfach im Vorfeld Freizeitausgleich anzusparen.

Flexible Arbeitszeit

Individuelle Möglichkeiten

So vielfältig die Tätigkeiten bei Bayer sind, so vielfältig sind auch unsere Arbeitszeitsysteme und -modelle. Außerhalb des Schichtbereichs setzen wir fast überall auf gleitende Arbeitszeit. Zusätzlich bieten wir unseren Mitarbeitern mit verschiedenen Teilzeitmodellen die Möglichkeit, ihre Arbeitszeit individuell auf ihre Bedürfnisse zuzuschneiden. Bereits seit 1988 wird dieses Modell in Deutschland mit der Gesamtbetriebsvereinbarung "Teilzeitarbeit" umgesetzt.
Mobile Arbeitsmöglichkeiten

Zuhause & unterwegs

Bei Bayer fördern wir mobile Arbeitsmöglichkeiten, damit Sie Ihre beruflichen und privaten Belange noch besser miteinander vereinbaren können. 2015 haben wir in Deutschland in einer Gesamtbetriebsvereinbarung dafür einheitliche Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen. Dabei unterscheiden wir zwischen zwei Varianten: Bei der „Telearbeit“ arbeiten Sie regelmäßig oder planmäßig von Zuhause an einem fest eingerichteten Heimarbeitsplatz. Beim „mobilen Arbeiten“ sind Sie nur gelegentlich und kurzfristig Zuhause oder einem anderen Ort tätig.
BayZeit

Flexible Lebensarbeitszeit

Mit dem Langzeitkonto „BayZeit“ bieten wir allen Mitarbeitern in einem unbefristeten Arbeitsverhältnis eine attraktive Möglichkeit, sowohl Zeit- als auch Entgeltkomponenten als Bruttoentgeltguthaben anzusparen und damit eine Freistellung zu finanzieren. Das gibt ihnen Freiräume, beispielsweise für die Pflege von Angehörigen, Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten oder eine verlängerte Elternzeit. Ebenso kann damit der Übergang in den Ruhestand gleitend gestaltet werden.
Belastungsreduzierung im Alter

Zusätzliche freie Tage

Je später die Rente kommt, desto länger werden die meisten arbeiten müssen. Um die damit verbundenen Belastungen zu reduzieren, haben wir bei Bayer ein Modell ins Leben gerufen, mit dem unsere Tarifmitarbeiter ab dem 57. Lebensjahr neben den normalen Urlaubstagen bis zu 30 zusätzliche freie Tage erhalten können.
BaySEN

Aktiv nach der Pensionierung

Das Wissen, die Kompetenz und die Erfahrung unserer Mitarbeiter gehören zu den wichtigsten Schlüsseln des Erfolges von Bayer. Und diese Expertise endet nicht mit dem Eintritt ins Rentenalter. Deshalb haben wir mit der Initiative „Bayer Senior Experts Network (BaySEN)“ eine Möglichkeit geschaffen, mit der ehemalige Mitarbeiter auch nach ihrer Pensionierung befristet arbeiten und ihre Expertise mit uns teilen können.
Zeit für Ihre Liebsten

Verantwortung für die Familie

Auch wenn Sie Ihren Beruf engagiert und gerne ausüben: Manchmal hat die Familie Vorrang. Dies ist besonders dann der Fall, wenn Kinder oder Angehörige besondere Aufmerksamkeit erfordern oder Pflege benötigen. Bei Bayer akzeptieren wir diese Verantwortlichkeit nicht nur, sondern fördern sie ausdrücklich.
Elternzeit

Auszeit für die Kleinen

In den ersten Lebensmonaten und Jahren machen Kinder die größten Entwicklungssprünge. Natürlich möchten Eltern diese Zeit möglichst intensiv erleben. Für Mütter beginnt diese Möglichkeit unmittelbar nach der Mutterschutzfrist; die Elternzeit als Vater kann direkt nach der Geburt des Kindes beginnen. Als Arbeitgeber stellen wir unseren Mitarbeitern für diese wichtige Phase ein individuelles Informations- und Beratungsangebot zur Verfügung.
Zuverlässige Kinderbetreuung

KiTa-Plätze

Kompetente und liebevolle Betreuung, lange Öffnungszeiten und kurze Wege zum Arbeitsplatz - Eltern arbeiten viel entspannter, wenn sie ihre Kinder gut betreut wissen. Als Teil unseres familienorientierten Angebots stellen wir daher an unseren Standorten in Leverkusen, Monheim, Dormagen, Wuppertal, Bergkamen, Frankfurt und Berlin rund 450 KiTa-Plätze zur Verfügung.
Vereine & Zuschüsse

Ferienbetreuung

Wer nicht auf die Unterstützung seiner Familie setzen kann, für den werden Ferien oft zum Spagat. Einen Ausweg bietet die Ferienbetreuung für Kinder von Bayer-Mitarbeitern im Alter von sechs bis vierzehn Jahren durch Bayer-Vereine in Leverkusen, Dormagen, Krefeld-Uerdingen und Wuppertal-Elberfeld. Die Ferienbetreuung unserer Mitarbeiter-Kinder unterstützen wir zudem mit einem finanziellen Zuschuss und auch dann, wenn Pendler beispielsweise lieber ein anderes wohnungsnahes Angebot nutzen möchten.
Arbeiten & Kinder betreuen

Eltern-Kind-Büros

Trotz gut organisierter Kinderbetreuung stehen berufstätige Väter und Mütter manchmal vor dem Problem, dass die übliche Betreuungsperson nicht verfügbar ist und sich kurzfristig auch keine Alternative finden lässt. Für diesen Fall hat Bayer an einigen Standorten in Deutschland Eltern-Kind-Büros eingerichtet, die schnell und unbürokratisch genutzt werden können.
Umfassende Unterstützung

Beratungsservice für Eltern

Wir kooperieren mit zwei erfahrenen Serviceunternehmen, die unsere Mitarbeiter rund um das Thema Kinderbetreuung kompetent und vor allem kostenlos beraten. Zu den Leistungen gehören insbesondere die Recherche geeigneter Einrichtungen öffentlicher, privater oder freier Träger sowie die Vermittlung von Kinderbetreuung im Privathaushalt, Kindertagespflegepersonen, Au-pairs, Babysittern, Einrichtungsplätzen, Schulen, Hausaufgaben- oder Nachhilfe.
Rahmenbedingungen & Angebote

Pflege von nahen Angehörigen

Beruf und Pflege von Angehörigen miteinander in Einklang zu bringen, kann eine große Herausforderung sein. Wir möchten alle Mitarbeiter in einer solchen Situation daher bestmöglich unterstützen. In Deutschland haben wir unsere Angebote in der Gesamtbetriebsvereinbarung "Pflege von nahen Angehörigen" festgeschrieben. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel die Möglichkeiten der Freistellung oder Arbeitszeitreduzierung sowie die kostenlose und anonyme Beratung durch einen spezialisierten, erfahrenen Dienstleister.