Attachments and referees

 

Certificates and references are required with job applications. Which ones you attach depends on your age and professional experience. Recruiters normally expect to receive all references from previous employers, plus certificates showing your university degree and/or vocational training. If you do not yet have much work experience, you should also attach your last school report.

If there are no attachments or they are incomplete, our recruiters will not be able to get a full picture of you. You should therefore include certificates and references that you do not find entirely satisfactory. Even if you have many years’ experience, we will need the certificates showing your highest educational qualification (e.g. high-school leaving certificate) and vocational or professional training (e.g. PhD). We do not just look at your grades; we also consider many aspects of your personality, skills and competencies which are outlined in your cover letter (letter of motivation) and resume (CV).

 

Selecting and checking attachments

You should only include certificates from training courses you have attended since qualifying if they are of relevance for the specific position. For example, a certificate of attendance from a course for safety or quality officers or an accounting course that extended over several weeks might be relevant. By contrast, you can omit certificates from short courses: normally they just inflate your application.

 

The dates and content of documents showing your academic grades and any further training should match the data included in your resume. It is amazing how often we find that the information in resumes differs from the certificates submitted - even in applications from highly qualified people. Therefore here is a piece of apparently self-evident advice: double-check everything or ask someone you trust to check it for you.

 

Referees are a valuable addition to your application

Referees are not a standard requirement for job applications in Germany - unlike other countries where they are often essential because employers do not issue references. However, including referees is a valuable complement to references from previous employers. If a former line manager, mentor or professor has given you an assurance that he or she would act as referee, you can name him/her in your application. In this case, you should include the referee’s  name, company and contact details in your resume. Please make sure the information is up-to-date. Incidentally, referees should always be at least one level above you in the organizational hierarchy.

 

The "third page”

A “third page” giving brief details of papers published, research projects and referees is normally an essential element of applications from scientists. This is where candidates highlight their scientific profile and accomplishments. For applications in other fields, it is a “nice-to-have” addition, for example, if you have published academic papers.

Checklist for attachments

DOs

  • Make sure you send all necessary attachments
  • Make sure the data match your resume
  • Relevant certificates (e.g. educational qualifications, bachelor's/masters degree, PhD)
  • Convert cover letter, resume and attachments to one (!) unencrypted PDF
  • Attachments up to max. 5 MB (total) / individual attachments max. 3 MB
 

Don't

  • Irrelevant attachments
  • Forged documents
  • Omit references from former employers
  • Too many separate PDFs
 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates

3/23/17 - 3/25/17

Postdoc WS Cardiovascular

3/31/17

INTERPHARM

4/3/17 - 4/4/17

European Conferences on Pharmaceutics

All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: May 19, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/how_to_join_us/applicationguide/application/attachments-and-referees/

Anlagen und Referenzen

 

Zeugnisse gehören immer zu einer vollständigen Bewerbung. Welche Sie beilegen, hängt von Ihrem Alter und Ihrer Berufserfahrung ab. Recruiter erwarten grundsätzlich alle Arbeitszeugnisse sowie das Zeugnis über Ihren Hochschulabschluss und / oder Ihre Berufsausbildung. Hinzu kommt das Zeugnis des letzten Schulabschlusses, falls Sie noch nicht über mehrjährige Berufserfahrung verfügen.

Bei fehlenden oder unvollständigen Zeugnissen können sich unsere Recruiter kein umfassendes Bild von Ihnen machen. Nehmen Sie deshalb auch Zeugnisse auf, mit denen Sie nicht ganz zufrieden sind. Spätestens zur Einstellung benötigen wir aber auch von Berufserfahrenen das Zeugnis des höchsten Schulabschlusses (z.B. Abi) und der Ausbildungen (z.B. Promotion). Wir sehen nicht nur Ihre Noten, sondern auch die vielen anderen Aspekte Ihrer Persönlichkeit, Ihrer Kompetenzen und Fähigkeiten, die wir aus Anschreiben und Lebenslauf erfahren.

 

Anlagen auswählen und prüfen

Fortbildungsbescheinigungen sollten Sie nur dann beifügen, wenn die Fortbildung eine konkrete Bedeutung für die Stelle oder das Unternehmen besitzt. Dies könnte beispielsweise eine Weiterbildung zum Sicherheits- oder Qualitätsbeauftragten oder ein mehrwöchiger Lehrgang im Bereich Rechnungswesen sein. Kurzseminare können Sie dagegen weglassen, sie blähen Ihre Bewerbung in der Regel nur auf.

 

In Ihrer Bewerbung sollten die Daten und Informationen Ihrer Arbeitszeugnisse und Fortbildungsbescheinigungen exakt mit den Daten des Lebenslaufs übereinstimmen. Es ist erstaunlich, wie oft wir feststellen, dass sich Daten und Aufgaben im Lebenslauf nicht mit denen der Zeugnisse decken – selbst bei hochqualifizierten Bewerbern. Deshalb für diese vermeintliche Selbstverständlichkeit unser Rat: Prüfen Sie sicherheitshalber noch einmal alles oder lassen Sie Ihre Bewerbung im Zweifel von einer vertrauten Person nach dem bewährten Vier-Augen-Prinzip gegenlesen.

 

Referenzen als wertvolle Ergänzung

Referenzen sind in Deutschland kein notwendiger Bestandteil einer Bewerbung, sie stellen jedoch eine wertvolle Ergänzung zu Ihren Arbeitszeugnissen dar (im Gegensatz zum Ausland, wo es in der Regel keine Arbeitszeugnisse gibt und Referenzen essentiell sind). Hat Ihnen ein ehemaliger Vorgesetzter, Mentor oder Professor zugesichert, sich besonders wohlwollend für Sie auszusprechen, geben Sie ihn gern als Referenz an. In diesem Fall gehören Name, Firma und Kontaktdaten in den Lebenslauf. Denken Sie auch daran, diese Informationen immer aktuell zu halten. Ihr Referenzgeber sollte hierarchisch übrigens immer mindestens eine Position über Ihnen stehen.

 

 

Die Dritte Seite

Gerade für Nachwuchswissenschaftler ist die sogenannte Dritte Seite mit einer übersichtlichen Darstellung eigener Veröffentlichungen, Forschungsprojekte und Referenzen zwingender Bestandteil jeder Bewerbung. Denn hier zeigen sich wissenschaftliches Profil und Qualifikation des Kandidaten. In anderen Bereichen ist diese Seite ein Nice-to-have, zum Beispiel für die Auflistung eigener Publikationen.

 Checkliste Anlagen

Do

  • Vollständigkeit
  • Übereinstimmung der Daten mit dem Lebenslauf
  • Der Stelle entsprechend relevante Zeugnisse (z.B. Abschlusszeugnisse, Bachelor / Master Urkunde / Doktorarbeit)
  • Anschreiben, Lebenslauf und Anhänge in ein (!) unverschlüsseltes PDF konvertieren
  • Anhänge bis zu einer Größe von insgesamt 5 MB / einzelne Dokumente maximal 3 MB
 

Don't

  • Anhänge ohne Relevanz für die Stelle
  • Gefälschte Dokumente
  • Fehlende Arbeitszeugnisse
  • Viele einzelne PDFs
 

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

27.05.17

Sticks & Stones

02.06.17

Traumberuf IT & Technik

08.06.17

JurStart

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 19.05.2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/how_to_join_us/applicationguide/application/attachments-and-referees/