show caption

David Castro photographing a school of bigeye trevally fish and their mating ritual at Cabo Pulmo, Mexico.

David against Goliath

The story behind the employer brand photo

What do we have to do with fish? For our employer brand, we decided that one of its images should be full of fish. And for a good reason: Octavio Aburto’s photograph tells a very special story about people who, through their dedication, have made a lasting improvement to the quality of life. The picture epitomizes our employer brand “Passion to innovate | Power to change.”

 

,

Cabo Pulmo

The fish in the picture are not just any fish. They are around 5,000 bigeye trevally, photographed by marine biologist and photographer Octavio Aburto in the Gulf of California’s Cabo Pulmo national marine park, Mexico. The spectacular image shows how the fish swarm in a tornado-like formation from the ocean bed to the surface. “With this fascinating ritual, the fish are preparing to mate,” the photographer explains. “In the past, events like this would attract fishermen who would come and catch the fish in huge numbers.”

463 %
increase in biomass between 1999 – 2009, after becoming Marine National Park.

When he says “in the past,” Aburto means the first half of the 1990s. At that time, the Cabo Pulmo coast was not yet a protected reserve and the entire region was overfished. But then the people living around the bay dedicated themselves to turning Cabo Pulmo into a national marine park with strict fishing rules. With incomparable doggedness, they stood firm against the economic thinking of the tourism industry and major fisheries.

Sustainable innovation

“One of the most dedicated of those fighting for the national park was David Castro,” Aburto says. In the picture, local man David is seen as a tiny diver confronted by the enormous school of fish, which explains Aburto’s choice of title for his picture: ‘David and Goliath.’

  • Octavio Aburto took the new employer brand photo. It tells a very special story.

“The name is supposed to express the fact that we humans are only a tiny part of a complex ecosystem,” says Aburto. “To ensure our long-term survival on this planet, we have to keep the environment we live in intact.” Environmental protection is critical to humanity’s survival. “The example of Cabo Pulmo proves that with a great deal of passion, commitment and tenacity, we can take action against environmental destruction and change things for the positive,” says Aburto. “Sustainable thinking is the only way to create lasting improvement in the living conditions of humans and animals on this earth.”

Bayer stands for sustainable innovation and products. This company philosophy fits in perfectly with the story behind the image.

This is why Aburto did not hesitate for a moment to make his picture available for the employer brand. “Bayer stands for sustainable innovation and products,” he says. “This company philosophy fits in perfectly with the story behind the image.” Aburto now hopes that his picture will inspire many people around the world.

So why this picture? Simple: “For us, it was important for the employer brand photo not only to catch the eye but also to get a message across, and highlight the mindset that we want to appeal to internally and externally,” says Christine Knebel who, with Farsana Jakubi, is leading the project. “This picture illustrates the story of a very successful sustainability project – and sustainable innovation is one of the crucial drivers at Bayer,” adds Jakubi.

This example shows that with plenty of passion, commitment and tenacity, it is possible to join together to question things and change them for the better. These are also core elements of our new employer brand.

Farsana Jakubi

The employer brand picture illustrates the story of a very successful sustainability project – and sustainable innovation is one of the crucial drivers at Bayer.

Join us, if you share our passion and commitment to change our world for the better. Because we invent solutions that will create a sustainable future for our planet.

Photo check

  • Name:
    David against Goliath
  • Photographer:
    Octavio Aburto
  • Location:
    Cabo Pulmo Marine National Park
  • Taken:
    November 2012
  • Became famous:
    The picture went viral in December 2012 after it was published by the National Geographic Magazine and photographer Octavio Aburto.

Job Search

Last Update: Sep 2, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/whybayer/values-stories/david-against-goliath/

show caption

David Castro beim Fotografieren eines Schwarms „Großaugen-Stachelmakrelen“ und ihres Paarungsrituals in Cabo Pulmo, Mexiko.

David gegen Goliath

Die Geschichte hinter dem Employer-Brand-Foto

Was haben wir bloß mit Fischen zu tun? Für unsere Arbeitgebermarke haben wir uns ein Foto voller Fische ausgesucht. Aus gutem Grund: Denn die Aufnahme von Octavio Aburto erzählt eine ganz besondere Geschichte über Menschen, die durch ihr Engagement das Leben nachhaltig verbessert haben. So steht dieses Motiv exemplarisch für unsere Arbeitgebermarke "Passion to innovate | Power to change".

 

,

Cabo Pulmo

Die Fische auf dem Bild sind nicht irgendwelche Fische: Es sind rund 5000 Großaugen-Stachelmakrelen, die der Meeresbiologe und Fotograf Octavio Aburto in der Bucht des mexikanischen Nationalparks Cabo Pulmo im Golf von Kalifornien fotografiert hat. Das spektakuläre Bild zeigt, wie die Tiere in einer tornadoähnlichen Formation vom Meeresboden bis zur Wasseroberfläche schwimmen: "Mit diesem faszinierenden Ritual bereiten sich die Fische auf die Paarung vor", erklärt der Fotograf. "Früher waren in einem solchen Moment sofort Fischer zur Stelle und fingen die Tiere gleich massenhaft ein."

463 %
anstieg an Biomasse zwischen 1999 – 2009 nach dem Erreichen des Status eines Marine Nationalparks

Früher, damit meint Octavio Aburto die erste Hälfte der neunziger Jahre. Damals war die Küste von Cabo Pulmo noch kein Nationalpark und das gesamte Gebiet stark überfischt. Doch dann setzten sich die Bewohner der Bucht dafür ein, aus Cabo Pulmo einen maritimen Nationalpark mit strengen Regeln für den Fischfang zu machen. Mit kaum zu überbietender Hartnäckigkeit behaupteten sie sich schließlich gegen die ökonomisch denkenden Tourismusanbieter und Großfischereien.

Nachhaltige Innovation

"Einer der engagiertesten Kämpfer für den Nationalpark war David Castro", erzählt Aburto. Auf dem Bild ist der Einheimische als winziger Taucher vor dem riesigen Fischschwarm zu sehen. "David und Goliath" hat Aburto sein Foto deshalb genannt.

  • Octavio Aburto hat das neue Employer-Brand-Foto geschossen. Es erzählt eine ganz besondere Geschichte.

"Der Titel soll ausdrücken, dass wir Menschen nur ein winziger Teil eines komplexen Ökosystems sind", sagt Aburto. "Und um auf diesem Planeten langfristig überleben zu können, müssen wir unseren eigenen Lebensraum intakt halten." Umweltschutz sei für die Menschheit überlebenswichtig. "Das Beispiel von Cabo Pulmo beweist, dass wir gegen Umweltzerstörung vorgehen und Dinge mit viel Leidenschaft, Engagement und Hartnäckigkeit positiv verändern können", sagt Aburto. "Nachhaltiges Denken ist der einzige Weg, die Lebensbedingungen für Mensch und Tier auf dieser Erde langfristig zu verbessern."

Bayer steht für nachhaltige Innovationen und Produkte. Diese Unternehmensphilosophie passt perfekt zur Geschichte des Bildes.

Genau deshalb hat Aburto auch keinen Moment gezögert, sein Bild für den Employer Brand zur Verfügung zu stellen: "Bayer steht für nachhaltige Innovationen und Produkte", sagt er. "Diese Unternehmensphilosophie passt perfekt zur Geschichte des Bildes." Aburto hofft nun, dass sein Bild noch viele Menschen auf der ganzen Welt inspirieren wird.

Also, warum ausgerechnet dieses Bild? Ganz einfach: "Für uns war es wichtig, dass das Foto zum Employer Brand nicht nur ein Blickfang ist, sondern auch eine Botschaft transportiert und die Denkweise hervorhebt, die wir intern und extern ansprechen wollen ", sagt Christine Knebel, die gemeinsam mit Farsana Jakubi das Projekt leitet. "Das Bild steht für die Geschichte eines sehr erfolgreichen Nachhaltigkeitsprojektes – und nachhaltige Innovationen sind einer der wesentlichen Antriebsmotoren bei Bayer", ergänzt Farsana Jakubi.

Dieses Beispiel zeigt, dass man Dinge gemeinsam, mit viel Leidenschaft, Engagement und Hartnäckigkeit infrage stellen und zum positiven verändern kann. Dies sind zugleich Kernelemente unseres neuen Employer Brands.

Farsana Jakubi

Das Bild steht für die Geschichte eines sehr erfolgreichen Nachhaltigkeitsprojektes – und nachhaltige Innovationen sind einer der wesentlichen Antriebsmotoren bei Bayer

Schließen Sie sich uns an, wenn Sie diese Leidenschaft die Welt zum Besseren zu verändern mit uns teilen. Denn wir arbeiten an den Lösungen, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für unseren Planeten möglich machen.

Photo check

  • Name:
    David gegen Goliath
  • Fotograf:
    Octavio Aburto
  • Ort:
    Cabo Pulmo Marine Nationalpark
  • Aufgenommen:
    November 2012
  • Wurde berühmt durch:
    Das Bild verbreitete sich viral im Internet, nachdem es 2012 von Fotograf Aburto und dem National Geographic Magazin veröffentlicht wurde

Job-Suche

Letzte Änderung: 02.09.2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: http://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/whybayer/values-stories/david-against-goliath/